BY: Senator MARTUCCI

CONGRATULATING the Minisink Valley High School Varsity Wrestling Team and Head Coach Kevin Gallagher upon the occasion of capturing the 2022 NYSPHSAA Division 1 Championship

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Minisink Valley High School Varsity Wrestling Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2022 NYSPHSAA Division 1 Championship; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, for the first time since 1975, Section 9 won the Sectional team race at the NYSPHSAA wrestling tournament by scoring a total of 155.5 points, the most points ever scored by a team in the history of the New York State tournament; and

WHEREAS, The Warriors crowned three state champions and had a total of six wrestlers place in the Top 4 in what wound up being a record-setting performance; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of Forest and White, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Warriors throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as wrestling, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Kevin Gallagher; Assistant Coaches Scott Hendershot, Ross Potter, Brendan Byrne and Mike Raccioppi; and Modified Coaches Dan Gallo and Travis Edwards worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the mat; and

WHEREAS, Coach Kevin Gallagher and all of the outstanding athletes on the Minisink Valley High School Varsity Wrestling Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to

congratulate the members of the Minisink Valley High School Varsity Wrestling Team: Joseph Uhrig, Quinten Morgan, Anthony Tresch, Ethan Gallo, Andrew Filip, Zack Filip, Liam Holmes, PJ Duke, Wyatt Boice,

Mikey Altomer, Joe Sullivan, Zak Mckernan, Aiden Gove, Eric Tigue, Tyler Dumond, Zack Ryder, George Racz, Luke Greiner, and Sophia Macaluso; Head Coach Kevin Gallagher; Assistant Coaches Scott Hendershot, Ross Potter, Brendan Byrne, and Mike Raccioppi; and Modified Coaches Dan Gallo and Travis Edwards on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Minisink Valley High School Varsity Wrestling Team, Head Coach Kevin Gallagher, Assistant Coaches Scott Hendershot, Ross Potter, Brendan Byrne and Mike Raccioppi, and Modified Coaches Dan Gallo and Travis Edwards.