STATE OF NEW YORK

4798

2019-2020 Regular Sessions

IN ASSEMBLY

February 5, 2019

Introduced by M. of A. GARBARINO -- Multi-Sponsored by -- M. of A. BARCLAY, BLANKENBUSH, BRABENEC, FINCH, GUNTHER, LAWRENCE, PALMESANO, RAIA, STECK, THIELE -- read once and referred to the Committee on Real Property Taxation

AN ACT to amend the real property tax law, in relation to making all state lands subject to taxation for school purposes

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as follows:

1 Section 1. Section 536 of the real property tax law, paragraph (c) of 2 subdivision 1 as amended by chapter 881 of the laws of 1961, paragraph 3 (e) of subdivision 1 as amended by section 4 of part CC of chapter 58 of 4 the laws of 2018, paragraph (f) of subdivision 1 as added by section 1 5 of part W of chapter 62 of the laws of 2006, and paragraph (g) of subdi-6 vision 1 as added by chapter 627 of the laws of 2006, is amended to read 7 as follows:

8 § 536. [Certain state] <u>State</u> lands subject to taxation for school 9 purposes only. 1. [The following] <u>All</u> state lands shall be subject to 10 taxation for school purposes[+

11 (a) Lands owned by the state, exclusive of the improvements erected 12 thereon by the state[, situate in the following school districts:

13	County	School District	Town
	-		
14	Broome	Common 4, 11	Kirkwood
15	Dutchess	Common 2	Amenia
16		Common 1, 2	Beckman
17		Common 6, 8, 9	Dover
18		Common 3, 4	Fishkill
19		Common 3	LaCrange
20	Erie	Common 3	Collins
21	Herkimer	Common 11, 12, 13	Russia

EXPLANATION--Matter in <u>italics</u> (underscored) is new; matter in brackets [-] is old law to be omitted.

LBD08350-01-9

1	Livingston	Common 7	Groveland
2	Madison	Common 8	Eaton
3	Monroe	Common 1	Rush
4	Oneida	Union free 13	Westmoreland and
5			Rome (city)
б	Orange	Common 1	<u>Cornwall</u>
7		Union free 4, 5	<u>Cornwall</u>
8		Common 2	
9		Common 16	Warwick
10	Orleans	Common 6	Albion
11	Saratoga	Common 5	Saratoga Springs
12			(city)
13	Seneca	Common 5	Ovid and Romulus
14	Suffolk	Common 7	Babylon
15		Common 15	Babylon and
16			Huntington
17		Common 16	Huntington
18		Union free 12, 13	
19		Common 5	
20	Sullivan	Common 4	
21	Ulster	Union free 2	Wawarsing
22	Westchester	Union free 1	Ossining
23	Wyoming	Common 2, 3	

24 (b) Lands owned by the state, exclusive of the improvements crected

25 thereon by the state, situate in the following towns:

26	County	Town
27	Cattaraugus	
28		Cold Spring
29		Elko
30		Great Valley
31		Red House
32		Salamanca
33		South Valley
34	Clinton	
35	Dutchess	Hyde Park
36		Poughkeepsie
37	Greene	Coxsackie
38	Oncida	
39		Marcy
40		Trenton
41		Western
42	Orange	Highlands
43	-	Tuxedo
44		Woodbury
45	Rockland	All towns

(c) Lands owned by the state situate in union free school district number one of the towns of Dannemora and Saranac, Clinton county, Mount Morris central school district number one of the towns of Mount Morris, Leicester, Groveland and West Sparta, Livingston county, except state lands constituting a portion of Letchworth park, central school district number two of the towns of Fort Ann, Hartford and Kingsbury, Washington county, and central school district number one of the towns of ShawanA. 4798

and Newburgh

1 gunk, Plattekill, Cardiner and Marlborough, Ulster county

2	and Montgomery, Orange county, exclusive of the improvements erected		
3	thereon by the state or maintained thereon by the state for the use of		
4	state institutions, except improvements owned by the state and occupied		
5	exclusively for residential purposes by persons who pay rent for such		
6	occupancy, or, if the occupants be state officials or employees, who		
7	either pay such rent or have in their families children who attend the		
8	school of one of such districts;		
9	(d) Lands owned by the state, exclusive of the improvements erected		
10	thereon by the state, situate in common school district number two of		
11	the town of Genesee Falls, Wyoming county, constituting a portion of		
12^{11}	Letchworth park, the title to which was vested in the state on December		
13	first, nineteen hundred ten.		
14^{-1}	(e) Lands owned by the state, within the core preservation area of the		
15	Central Pine Barreng area as described and bounded by subdivision eleven		
16	of section 57-0107 of the environmental conservation law, situate in the		
17	following school districts:		
т /	torrowing benoor districts.		
18	County School District Town		
10	County School District Town		
19	Suffolk Rocky Point Union Free Brookhaven		
19 20	school district		
$\frac{20}{21}$	Eastport Union Free school Brookhaven		
21 22	district Southampton		
	district Southampton Longwood Central school Brookhaven		
23			
24	district		
25	Riverhead Central school Brookhaven		
26	district Riverhead		
27	Southampton		
28	Hampton Bays Union Free Southampton		
29	school district		
30	Shoreham-Wading River Brookhaven		
31	Central school Riverhead		
32	district		
33	(f) Lands owned by the state, outside of the core preservation area of		
34	the Central Pine Barrens area as described and bounded by paragraph		
35	eleven of section 57-0107 of the environmental conservation law, situate		
36	in the Riverhead central school district within the town of Riverhead,		
37	county of Suffolk, where the title holder is listed as the "State of New		
38	York on the town of Riverhead's assessment roll as of March sixteenth,		
39	two thousand six.		
40	(g) Lands owned by the state, exclusive of the improvements erected		
41	thereon by the state, situate in the Smithtown central school district,		
42	in the county of Suffolk, constituting lands in the town of Smithtown		
43	with the following tax identification number: district 0800, section		
44	0040, block 0002, lots 0011, and lands situate in the Three Village		
45	central school district, constituting lands in the town of Brookhaven		
46	with the following tax identification number: district 0200, section		
47	0273, block 0001, lot 0003].		
48	2. For the purposes of this section, [such] school districts, whether		
49	or not reorganized, shall be deemed to continue to exist with the bound-		
50	aries that were in effect at the time the state lands therein were first		

51 subjected to taxation for school purposes.

52 § 2. This act shall take effect immediately and shall apply to all 53 taxable years after this act shall have become a law.