STATE OF NEW YORK

2225--A

2019-2020 Regular Sessions

IN ASSEMBLY

January 22, 2019

Introduced by M. of A. CAHILL -- read once and referred to the Committee on Environmental Conservation -- committee discharged, bill amended, ordered reprinted as amended and recommitted to said committee

AN ACT to amend the executive law, in relation to including the Sawkill Creek in Ulster county within the definition of "inland waterways" for the purposes of waterfront revitalization

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as follows:

Section 1. Subdivision 4 of section 911 of the executive law, as separately amended by chapters 43 and 255 of the laws of 2017, paragraph (a) as separately amended by chapters 133, 135, 140, 153, 234, 265, 268, 485 and 499 of the laws of 2018, paragraph (b) as amended by chapter 499 of the laws of 2018, and paragraph (c) as separately amended by chapters 131, 140, 232 and 502 of the laws of 2018, is amended to read as

7 follows: 8 "Inland waterways" shall mean (a) the state's major inland lakes consisting of lakes Baldwin, Ballston, Big Tupper, Black, Campfire, 10 Canadarago, Canandaigua, Carmel, Cazenovia, Cayuga, Champlain, Charles, Chateaugay, Chautauqua, Chazy, Conesus, Cranberry, East Caroga, Dickie-11 12 busch, Echo (in the county of Westchester), George, Glencoma, Great 13 Sacandaga, Honeoye, Indian, Katonah, Kentwood, Keuka, Kitchawan, Little Wolf (in the county of Franklin), Lincolndale, Long, Lost (in the county of Putnam), Meahagh, Mirror, MacGregor, Mahopac, Minerva, Mohegan, 15 Nimham, Neatahwanta, Northville, Oceola, Oneida, Onondaga, Oscaleta, Ossi, Otisco, Otsego, Owasco, Palmer, Peach, Placid, Purdys, Putnam, 17 18 Raquette, Rippowam, Ronkonkoma, Round, Sacandaga, Saratoga, Schroon, Secor, Seneca, Shenorock, Skaneateles, Silver (in the county of Wyom-20 ing), Sagamore, Saranac, Seven Hills, Tibet, Tonetta, Teakettle Spout, 21 Truesdale, Waccabuc, West Caroga and Wixon, Simon (in the county of 22 Franklin) and the Fulton chain of lakes; (b) the state's major rivers 23 comprised of the Allegheny, Ausable, Battenkill, Black, Boquet, Bronx,

LBD06117-03-9

A. 2225--A 2

1 Canisteo, Chaumont (including Chaumont bay), Chemung, Chenango, Cohocton, Delaware, Deer, Genesee, Grasse, Great Chazy, Hoosic, Hudson north 3 of the federal dam at Troy, Indian, Little (in the Adirondack park), 4 Little Ausable, Little Salmon (including north and south branches), Mad, Mettowee, Mohawk, Oswegatchie, Oswego, Pocantico, Racquette, Sacandaga, Salmon, Saranac, Saw Mill, Schroon, Susquehanna, Tenmile, Tioga, Tioughnioga, Wallkill and Buffalo rivers, and the north and middle branches of the Moose river; (c) the state's major creeks comprised of the 18 Mile 9 Creek located in Erie county, Chittenango Creek, Bash Bish and Kinderhook Creek located in Columbia county, Kinderhook Creek located in Rensselaer county, Basher Kill, Bushkill, Cattaraugus, Cayadutta, Cincinna-11 ti, East Kill, Esopus (including upper and lower branches), Fish 12 13 (including east and west branches), Gooseberry, Great Valley, Kennyetto, 14 Little Sandy, Onondaga, Peekskill Hollow, Roeliff Jansen Kill, Rondout, 15 Sandy, Schoharie, Shawangunk Kill, South Sandy, Oatka, Tonawanda, West 16 Kill, Scajaquada, Wappinger, Webatuck, Wassaic, Black Creek located in Monroe county, Black Creek located in Genesee and Wyoming counties, 17 Ellicott Creek located in Erie county, Wynantskill, Claverack, Taghkan-18 19 ic, Agawamuck, Wyomanock, and Ley Creek and Butternut Creek located in 20 Onondaga county, [and] Nanticoke and Sawkill (in Ulster county); (d) the Barge Canal System as defined in section two of the canal law; and (e) 22 the adjacent shorelands to the extent that such inland waters and adjacent lands are strongly influenced by each other including, but not 23 limited to, islands, wetlands, beaches, dunes, barrier islands, cliffs, 25 bluffs and erosion prone areas.

§ 2. This act shall take effect immediately.

26