BY: Senator BIAGGI

CONGRATULATING the United States Women's National Soccer Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup on July 7, 2019

WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body to recognize and pay just tribute to those citizens who embody the true American spirit, demonstrating personal courage and conviction in pursuit of athletic achievement; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the United States Women's National Soccer Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the United States Women's National Soccer Team defeated the Netherlands Women's National Soccer Team in a thrilling 2-0 victory to capture their second consecutive and fourth overall Women's World Cup title on Sunday, July 7, 2019, at Parc Olympique Lyonnais in Decines-Charpieu, France; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the tournament, the team went undefeated, and set records with 26 goals and a 12-game World Cup winning streak dating to 2015; Jill Ellis became the first coach to lead a team to two Women's World Cup titles; and

WHEREAS, In addition to this monumental win, these American heroes are leading the fight for equality nationwide; before the start of the World Cup, the team sued the United States Soccer Federation alleging gender-based pay-discrimination; on June 21, 2019, the players and the federation agreed to sit down for mediation; and

WHEREAS, Since the historic victory in France, political leaders, athletes, and entertainers have all voiced support for equal pay for the United States Women's National Soccer Team; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by these incredible women is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Jill Ellis and her exceptional coaching staff, skilled and inspirational tutors respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize and applaud the achievements of its citizens who would elect to challenge life with an uncommon spirit and determination, demonstrating by example and purposeful action that commitment to personal goals is the wellspring of self-fulfillment and triumph; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the United States Women's National Soccer Team: Morgan Brian, Abby Dahlkemper, Tierna Davidson, Crystal Dunn,

Julie Ertz, Adrianna Franch, Ashlyn Harris, Tobin Heath, Lindsey Horan, Ali Krieger, Rose Lavelle, Carli Lloyd, Allie Long, Jessica McDonald, Samantha Mewis, Alex Morgan, Alyssa Naeher, Kelley O'Hara, Christen

Press, Mallory Pugh, Megan Rapinoe, Becky Sauerbrunn, and Emily Sonnett; and Head Coach Jill Ellis upon the occasion of capturing the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup on July 7, 2019; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the United States Women's National Soccer Team, and Head Coach Jill Ellis.