Senate Resolution No. 1807

BY: Senator LANZA

HONORING the outstanding teachers from Staten Island, New York, in conjunction with the observance of National Teacher Appreciation Month on May 28, 2019

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to acknowledge the significant accomplishments in the distinguished careers of those outstanding educational leaders, whose dedication and achievements have been instrumental in developing character and academic excellence in the young people of New York State; and

WHEREAS, New York State's commitment to education is unparalleled; its history and stature are secured by the superlative caliber of its educational professionals and the students they inspire; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to honor the outstanding teachers from Staten Island, New York, in conjunction with the observance of National Teacher Appreciation Month; and

WHEREAS, This auspicious occasion was celebrated at an Annual Teacher Appreciation and Recognition Ceremony on Tuesday, May 28, 2019, at IS 75 in Staten Island, New York; and

WHEREAS, This prestigious award was presented to those exemplary teachers from Staten Island who foster creativity, instill a love of learning, motivate students to maintain high expectations and academic goals, and make a difference in the lives of students; and

WHEREAS, The following teachers are truly committed to their students and share their innovative practices with fellow educators: Jennifer Antosz, Curtis High School; Christina Valletta Setty, Gaynor McCown EL High School; Joanne Samaan, Holy Rosary School; Robert Bates, The Hungerford School; Paula Hayden, IS 7; Kim Gallo, IS 24; Martin 27; Christina Minardi, IS 34; Janine Cali, IS 61; Alyssa Giaimo, IS LaRocca, IS 75; Lisa Poerio, John Lavelle Preparatory Charter School; Linda Zahrieh, Miraj Islamic School; Hanaa Ahmed, Miraj Islamic School; Amira Badawy, Miraj Islamic School; Mark Nigido, New Dorp High School; Amelia DePompo, New Ventures Charter School; Alizabeth Perez, New World Preparatory Charter School; Donna Bellocchio, Notre Dame Academy; Michael Spaventa, Port Richmond High School; Kathryn Williams, PS 1; Tracy Murray, PS 4; Claudette Fiore, PS 5; Patricia Joachimsen, PS 6; Ellen Petimar, PS 8; Nancy Picciolo, PS 8; Samantha Midolo, PS 11; Amelia Nicholasi, PS 16; Raffaella Passanisi, PS 20; Melissa Neglia, PS 21; Jill Benton, PS 22; Erica Zocco, PS 26; Brittany Edwards, PS 29; Joseph Santaniello, PS 29; Teresa Kelly, PS 38; Juan Camilo Trespalacios, PS 44; Esmah Elchoum, PS/IS 48; Vincent Lyman, PS 53; Christina Salters, PS 54; Deidre Burke, PS 55; Lynn Brennan, PS 57; Kristin Bille, PS 68; Donna Scharf, PS 69; Jennifer Langell, PS 78; Michael Scotti, Ralph R. McKee High School; Heather Brown, Staten Island Technical High School; Justina Pedernales, St. Adalbert; Kristina D'Ambrosio, St. Clare School; Vincenza Rella, St. Joseph by the Sea; Jennifer Pla, St. Joseph Hill Academy; Antoinette Kinzel, St. Rita

School; Karen Rosenthal, Susan E. Wagner High School; and Noeleen Murray, Tottenville High School; and

WHEREAS, The future success of our State and Nation is dependent upon individuals such as these honorees, who dedicate their lives as educators, nurturing our most precious resource, our youth; and

WHEREAS, Educators like these teachers from Staten Island, provide a tremendous service to the future of our State and Nation, inspiring generations of young people in their educational journeys and ensuring their success in their future years; and

WHEREAS, These teachers clearly have an enduring impact on the youth of Staten Island, and accordingly merits recognition and applause for their impressive dedication to others; and

WHEREAS, Throughout their careers thus far, these teachers have brought an uncompromising standard of excellence to their work and a warm sense of caring and concern to every young person they educate; and

WHEREAS, It is the practice of this Legislative Body to commend the efforts of those individuals who work to support our proud tradition of public education by providing their skills and talents to our schools; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor the outstanding teachers from Staten Island, New York, in conjunction with the observance of National Teacher Appreciation Month on May 28, 2019; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned honorees.