BY: Senator KAPLAN

COMMENDING Matthew Andrzejewski upon the occasion of his designation for special recognition by the 2018-2019 Class of Eagles on June 13, 2019

WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body to recognize that the quality and character of life in the communities across New York State are reflective of the concerned and dedicated efforts of those individuals who would devote themselves to the welfare of the community and its citizenry; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commend Matthew Andrzejewski upon the occasion of his designation for special recognition by the 2018-2019 Class of Eagles on June 13, 2019 to be celebrated at the Eagle Scout Recognition and Hall of Fame Dinner on Thursday, June 13, 2019, at The Carltun, Eisenhower Park in East Meadow, New York; and

WHEREAS, America has achieved her greatest heights of glory through the dedication, determination and tireless efforts of the outstanding citizens of this Nation; and

WHEREAS, The Boy Scouts of America and its members are dedicated to the development of character and leadership in the youth of this Nation; and

WHEREAS, Since Arthur Rose Eldred, a member of Troop 1 in Rockville Centre, New York, was awarded the first Eagle Scout Medal in the country in 1912, only four percent of eligible Scouts have earned Scouting's highest honor; and

WHEREAS, Matthew Andrzejewski earned his Eagle Scout Award in 1999, and truly lives his life by the mantra Once an Eagle, always an Eagle; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that those individuals who enhance the well-being and vitality of their community and have shown a long and sustained commitment to excellence certainly have earned the recognition and applause of all the citizens of this great Empire State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commend Matthew Andrzejewski upon the occasion of his designation for special recognition by the 2018-2019 Class of Eagles on June 13, 2019; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Matthew Andrzejewski.