BY: Senator SERINO

CONGRATULATING the Poughkeepsie High School Boys Basketball Team upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Class A Championship

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become role models for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Poughkeepsie High School Boys Basketball Team upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Class A Championship; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Pioneers defeated Pittsford Mendon in a 69-59 victory to win the program's first New York State championship in 24 years on Saturday, March 16, 2019, in Binghamton, New York; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of navy and white, family, friends, and the community at large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Pioneers throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive 25-4 overall record; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as basketball, which demands athletic prowess, speed and agility, Head Coach Cody Moffett and his expert coaching staff worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the court; and

WHEREAS, Coach Cody Moffett, Assistant Coaches James Weldon, Dennis Dean, Joe Laster, Julius Cox, Jay'Quan Floyd, and Dave Hargett, and all of the outstanding athletes on the Poughkeepsie High School Boys Basketball Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Poughkeepsie High School Boys Basketball Team: Jadeion Buckley, Jamar Campbell, Jamik Carter, Javel Cherry, JaVante Davis, Darion Edwards, Niyal Goins, Shelvon Grant, Xavier Grant, Jahquel Harvard, YaNique Jackson, Marvin Lunsford, JaQuan Pearson, Tremell Reaves, Andrew Small, Davontrey Thomas, and Denzel Wheeler; Athletic Director Christian G. Hodge, Sr.; Head Coach Cody Moffett; Assistant Coaches James Weldon, Dennis Dean, Joe Laster, Julius Cox, Jay'Quan Floyd, and Dave Hargett; and Team Managers Daniel Pillsbury and

Abdul Azim, on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Poughkeepsie High School, the members of the Poughkeepsie High School Boys Basketball Team, Athletic Director Christian G. Hodge, Sr., Head Coach Cody Moffett, Assistant Coaches James Weldon, Dennis Dean, Joe Laster, Julius Cox, Jay'Quan Floyd, and Dave Hargett, and Team Managers Daniel Pillsbury and Abdul Azim.