## STATE OF NEW YORK

6571

2019-2020 Regular Sessions

## IN ASSEMBLY

March 12, 2019

Introduced by M. of A. GALEF -- read once and referred to the Committee on Environmental Conservation

AN ACT to amend the executive law, in relation to including the lakes of Drew and South in Putnam county within the definition of "inland waterways" for the purposes of waterfront revitalization

## The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as follows:

1 Section 1. Subdivision 4 of section 911 of the executive law, as sepa-2 rately amended by chapters 43 and 255 of the laws of 2017, paragraph (a) 3 as separately amended by chapters 133, 135, 140, 153, 234, 265, 268, 485 4 and 499 of the laws of 2018, paragraph (b) as amended by chapter 499 of 5 the laws of 2018, and paragraph (c) as separately amended by chapters 6 131, 140, 232 and 502 of the laws of 2018, is amended to read as 7 follows:

8 4. "Inland waterways" shall mean (a) the state's major inland lakes 9 consisting of lakes Baldwin, Ballston, Big Tupper, Black, Campfire, Canadarago, Canandaigua, Carmel, Cazenovia, Cayuga, Champlain, Charles, 10 11 Chateaugay, Chautauqua, Chazy, Conesus, Cranberry, Drew, East Caroga, 12 Dickiebusch, Echo (in the county of Westchester), George, Glencoma, 13 Great Sacandaga, Honeoye, Indian, Katonah, Kentwood, Keuka, Kitchawan, 14 Little Wolf (in the county of Franklin), Lincolndale, Long, Lost (in the county of Putnam), Meahagh, Mirror, MacGregor, Mahopac, Minerva, Mohe-15 gan, Nimham, Neatahwanta, Northville, Oceola, Oneida, Onondaga, Oscale-16 ta, Ossi, Otisco, Otsego, Owasco, Palmer, Peach, Placid, Purdys, Putnam, 17 18 Raquette, Rippowam, Ronkonkoma, Round, Sacandaga, Saratoga, Schroon, 19 Secor, Seneca, Shenorock, Skaneateles, Silver (in the county of Wyom-20 ing), Sagamore, Saranac, Seven Hills, South (in the county of Putnam), 21 Tibet, Tonetta, Teakettle Spout, Truesdale, Waccabuc, West Caroga and 22 Wixon, Simon (in the county of Franklin) and the Fulton chain of lakes; 23 (b) the state's major rivers comprised of the Allegheny, Ausable, 24 Battenkill, Black, Boquet, Bronx, Canisteo, Chaumont (including Chaumont

EXPLANATION--Matter in <u>italics</u> (underscored) is new; matter in brackets [-] is old law to be omitted.

LBD10440-01-9

bay), Chemung, Chenango, Cohocton, Delaware, Deer, Genesee, Grasse, 1 Great Chazy, Hoosic, Hudson north of the federal dam at Troy, Indian, 2 3 Little (in the Adirondack park), Little Ausable, Little Salmon (includ-4 ing north and south branches), Mad, Mettowee, Mohawk, Oswegatchie, Oswe-5 go, Pocantico, Racquette, Sacandaga, Salmon, Saranac, Saw Mill, Schroon, б Susquehanna, Tenmile, Tioga, Tioughnioga, Wallkill and Buffalo rivers, 7 and the north and middle branches of the Moose river; (c) the state's 8 major creeks comprised of the 18 Mile Creek located in Erie county, 9 Chittenango Creek, Bash Bish and Kinderhook Creek located in Columbia 10 county, Kinderhook Creek located in Rensselaer county, Basher Kill, 11 Bushkill, Cattaraugus, Cayadutta, Cincinnati, East Kill, Esopus (including upper and lower branches), Fish (including east and west branches), 12 13 Gooseberry, Great Valley, Kennyetto, Little Sandy, Onondaga, Peekskill 14 Hollow, Roeliff Jansen Kill, Rondout, Sandy, Schoharie, Shawangunk Kill, South Sandy, Oatka, Tonawanda, West Kill, Scajaquada, Wappinger, Weba-15 16 tuck, Wassaic, Black Creek located in Monroe county, Black Creek located 17 in Genesee and Wyoming counties, Ellicott Creek located in Erie county, Wynantskill, Claverack, Taghkanic, Agawamuck, Wyomanock, and Ley Creek 18 19 and Butternut Creek located in Onondaga county, and Nanticoke; (d) the 20 Barge Canal System as defined in section two of the canal law; and (e) 21 the adjacent shorelands to the extent that such inland waters and adjacent lands are strongly influenced by each other including, but not 22 limited to, islands, wetlands, beaches, dunes, barrier islands, cliffs, 23 24 bluffs and erosion prone areas. 25 § 2. This act shall take effect immediately.