BY: M. of A. Jenne

CONGRATULATING the St. Lawrence Thunder Tier II AAA 16U Hockey Team upon the occasion of winning the USA Hockey National Championship

WHEREAS, Achievement and triumph in competitive sports fostered by strong leadership and coaching, requires immense focus, dedication, arduous practice, team morale and team building; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize members of our community who have achieved the outstanding title of National Champions; and

WHEREAS, The team members of the St. Lawrence Thunder Hockey Team have proven themselves to be a talented and superior team through their tireless hard work, talent, and dedication to the sport; and

WHEREAS, The St. Lawrence Thunder Tier II AAA 16U Hockey Team skated to the USA Hockey National Championship with a 4-2 victory over the Southern Connecticut Stars on April 9, 2018, in Wayne, New Jersey; and

WHEREAS, The Thunder, based in Massena, had advanced to the title game by downing the previously unbeaten Oakland (Michigan) Jr. Grizzlies 7-1 in the semifinals; and

WHEREAS, The Thunder had opened the championship round by edging the Armstrong (Pennsylvania) Arrows 3-2 in the quarterfinal rounds; the North Country skaters started their 6-0 tournament run with preliminary round victories over the New Jersey Bandits (3-1), the Tampa Scorpions (5-1) and the Southern Connecticut Stars (6-1) in the 16-team field; and

WHEREAS, The St. Lawrence Thunder earned the trip to the national tournament by downing the Cheektowaga Warriors 3-1 on March 18, 2018, in Amherst at the New York State Tier II 16U championship game; the Thunder edged the Syracuse Blazers 2-1 in double overtime in the state tournament semi-finals; and

WHEREAS, The team, which plays a wraparound schedule around the high school seasons, skated to a 33-7-1 mark; and

WHEREAS, The Thunder feature players from Brasher Falls, Canton, Clayton, Fort Covington, Massena, Ogdensburg, Parishville, Potsdam, Saranac Lake and West Stockholm; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the St. Lawrence Thunder Tier II AAA 16U Hockey Team: Rico DiMatteo, Romano Sergi, Cameron Cartier, Tommy Bannister, Matt Harvey, Bobby Wells, Isaac Testani, Carter Rose, Nate Boak, Zach Ellsworth, Chris Paige, Robbie Southwick, Dillon Spinner, Jacob Brothers, Payton Felix, Kaleb Rathbun, John Mahoney ,Will Varney Potsdam, and Casey Hooper; Head Coach Mark Goodnow, and Assistant

Coaches Josh Bartell and Dustin Smith on capturing the National Championship; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to each team member, Head Coach Mark Goodnow, and Assistant Coaches Josh Bartell and Dustin Smith.