Senate Resolution No. 5628

BY: Senator SEWARD

COMMEMORATING the 200th Anniversary of the Esperance Volunteer Fire Department to be celebrated on July 14, 2018

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is proud to commemorate the 200th Anniversary of the Esperance Volunteer Fire Department and to honor its past and present firefighting members for 200 years of fire protection to the citizens of Esperance, New York and its surrounding communities; and

WHEREAS, This auspicious occasion will be celebrated with a myriad of events located throughout the Village of Esperance on Saturday, July 14, 2018; some of the events include a breakfast at the Methodist Church, concerts by the Esperance Band and the Depot Lane Singers, an opening ceremony, a parade with awards, a cake, firematics, music, and fireworks; and

WHEREAS, In addition, residents of Esperance and Schoharie County can peruse craft and food vendors throughout the day; and

WHEREAS, Even though the Village of Esperance was officially incorporated on April 21, 1818, the freeholders of Esperance acquired Deluge No. 1, as a used 18th Century Tub Engine from Schenectady, New York, in 1815; and

WHEREAS, The Deluge is now located at the Old Stone Fort Museum in Schoharie, New York, after serving the residents of Esperance for 60 years; it is known as the oldest fire engine in America, having been originally built by Richard Newsham for New York City in 1731; it was sold to the City of Schenectady in 1797; and

WHEREAS, The first firehouse was purchased from the De La Vergne family in 1837; the old hat factory building was replaced in 1938, and once again ten years later when the department bought the Van Vechten Horse Farm on Church Street; this building is still in use today; and

WHEREAS, In the 1950s, the rescue squad was one of the first in Schoharie County to be established with a used ambulance donated by the South Schenectady Department; and

WHEREAS, The Esperance Volunteer Fire Department recently completed its new engine house, just in time for the bicentennial celebration; and

WHEREAS, Today, the Esperance Volunteer Fire Department is led by Chief Matt Deffer, President James Diamond, Treasurer Royce Gage, and Secretary Michelle Sparacin; and

WHEREAS, Fire departments are an integral part of community protection services in every locality of our State; during the past 200 years, the courageous and devoted firefighters of the Esperance

Volunteer Fire Department have valiantly responded to all types of fire emergencies and have won the praise and respect of the community which they serve; and

WHEREAS, With a membership of dedicated firefighters, the record of the Esperance Volunteer Fire Department in public service and fire protection is one to be envied; for 24 hours a day, for 365 days a year, for 200 years, whenever the alarm sounded, these noble volunteers left their homes and went to the aid of their neighbors; and

WHEREAS, The brave firefighters of the Esperance Volunteer Fire Department are prepared to risk their lives every day to help save the lives of others and to protect homes and property from the destruction caused by fire; and

WHEREAS, In addition to the skill and devoted service demonstrated by individual firefighters, the Esperance Volunteer Fire Department reflects the history and development of firefighting over the past 200 years; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body cannot express sufficient gratitude to those devoted individuals who recognize that the preservation of life and property is a sacred responsibility and who make that responsibility their own by serving as firefighters; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that we should give special recognition to those who work so assiduously for the betterment of their communities, and acknowledge publicly the heroic good works performed by the volunteer fire departments of this great Empire State, their officers and auxiliaries; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to proudly commemorate the 200th Anniversary of the Esperance Volunteer Fire Department to be celebrated on July 14, 2018; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Matt Deffer, chief, Esperance Volunteer Fire Department.