BY: Senator KENNEDY

COMMENDING 12 Lackawanna Firefighters upon the occasion of their designation as recipients of a Liberty Medal, the highest honor bestowed upon an individual by the New York State Senate

WHEREAS, It is incumbent upon the people of the State of New York to recognize and acknowledge those within our midst who have made significant contributions to the quality of life therein; and

WHEREAS, From time to time this Legislative Body takes note of certain extraordinary individuals it wishes to recognize for their valued contributions to the success and progress of society and publicly acknowledge their endeavors which have enhanced the basic humanity among us all; and

WHEREAS, The New York State Senate Liberty Medal was established by Resolution and is awarded to individuals who have merited special commendation for exceptional, heroic, or humanitarian acts on behalf of their fellow New Yorkers; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to honor 12 Lackawanna Firefighters upon the occasion of their designation as recipients of a Liberty Medal, the highest honor bestowed upon an individual by the New York State Senate; and

WHEREAS, Firefighters exemplify the power of human compassion and the strength of the American spirit through actions of the most heroic magnitude; their sacrifices and their selfless dedication merit tribute and recognition by all citizens of this great country; and

WHEREAS, On Saturday, April 22, 2017, fire engulfed a four-unit apartment building on Ingham Avenue in Lackawanna; and

WHEREAS, Thanks to the quick response of the brave men of the Lackawanna Fire Department, although approximately 20 people were displaced by the fire and seven were injured, there were no fatalities; and

WHEREAS, The 12 brave Lackawanna Firefighters include: Captain James Fino, Lieutenant Mark Wodzinski, Firefighter Raymond Janczyk, Firefighter Ronald Shul, Firefighter John Koch, Firefighter Gene Olivieri, Firefighter Nicholas Kasprzak, Firefighter Jason Surdyke, Firefighter Theodore Katra, Jr., Firefighter Brian Murphy, Firefighter Nicolai Roussev and Firefighter Gabriel Tanyi; and

WHEREAS, These 12 Firefighters should be regarded as true heroes; they have continually devoted themselves to public service, demonstrating great courage and diligence in providing for the care and welfare of the citizens of this great Empire State; and WHEREAS, Praised for maintaining their composure and their professional conduct, the 12 Firefighters each demonstrated their true character and genuine compassion for the welfare of others; and

WHEREAS, Within every community of the State of New York there are certain individuals who, by virtue of their commitment and dedication, command the respect and admiration of their community for their exemplary contributions and service on behalf of others; these firefighters are such individuals; and

WHEREAS, It is the custom of this Legislative Body that those dedicated public servants who unselfishly devote their lives to the preservation of order and the protection of others are worthy and due full praise for their commitment and noble endeavors; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor 12 Lackawanna Firefighters upon the occasion of their designation as recipients of a Liberty Medal, the highest honor bestowed upon an individual by the New York State Senate; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the 12 aforementioned Lackawanna Firefighters.