## STATE OF NEW YORK

\_\_\_\_\_

8463

2017-2018 Regular Sessions

## IN ASSEMBLY

June 16, 2017

Introduced by M. of A. ZEBROWSKI -- read once and referred to the Committee on Ways and Means

AN ACT to amend the tax law, in relation to the definition of film zone and the exclusion of the film zone from the additional empire state film production credit

## The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assembly, do enact as follows:

Section 1. Paragraph 5 of subdivision (a) of section 24 of the tax law, as amended by section 1 of part M of chapter 59 of the laws of 2017 is amended to read as follows:

2

3 2017, is amended to read as follows: (5) For the period two thousand fifteen through two thousand twentytwo, in addition to the amount of credit established in paragraph two of this subdivision, a taxpayer shall be allowed a credit equal to the product (or pro rata share of the product, in the case of a member of a partnership) of ten percent and the amount of wages or salaries paid to individuals directly employed (excluding those employed as writers, 10 directors, music directors, producers and performers, including background actors with no scripted lines) by a qualified film production 11 company or a qualified independent film production company for services 13 performed by those individuals in one of the counties or areas specified 14 in this paragraph in connection with a qualified film with a minimum 15 budget of five hundred thousand dollars. For purposes of this additional credit, the services must be performed in one or more of the following 16 counties or areas: Albany, Allegany, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chau-17 tauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Clinton, Columbia, Cortland, Delaware, Dutch-18 19 ess, Erie, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, 20 Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Niagara, 21 Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orange, Orleans, Oswego, Otsego, Putnam, 22 Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, St. Lawrence, Steuben, Sullivan, Tioga, Tompkins, Ulster, Warren, Washing-24 ton, Wayne, Wyoming, [ex] Yates, or any area in the counties of Rockland

EXPLANATION--Matter in italics (underscored) is new; matter in brackets
[-] is old law to be omitted.

LBD13032-03-7

A. 8463

1 or Westchester which is not located in the film zone as defined in paragraph nine of subdivision (b) of this section. The aggregate amount of 3 tax credits allowed pursuant to the authority of this paragraph shall be 4 five million dollars each year during the period two thousand fifteen through two thousand twenty-two of the annual allocation made available to the program pursuant to paragraph four of subdivision (e) of this 7 section. Such aggregate amount of credits shall be allocated by the governor's office for motion picture and television development among 9 taxpayers in order of priority based upon the date of filing an applica-10 tion for allocation of film production credit with such office. If the 11 total amount of allocated credits applied for under this paragraph in 12 any year exceeds the aggregate amount of tax credits allowed for such 13 year under this paragraph, such excess shall be treated as having been 14 applied for on the first day of the next year. If the total amount of 15 allocated tax credits applied for under this paragraph at the conclusion 16 of any year is less than five million dollars, the remainder shall be 17 treated as part of the annual allocation made available to the program pursuant to paragraph four of subdivision (e) of this section. However, 18 in no event may the total of the credits allocated under this paragraph 19 20 and the credits allocated under paragraph five of subdivision (a) of 21 section thirty-one of this article exceed five million dollars in any 22 year during the period two thousand fifteen through two thousand twenty-two. 23 24

- § 2. Subdivision (b) of section 24 of the tax law is amended by adding a new paragraph 9 to read as follows:
- 26 (9) "Film zone" shall mean an area within a twenty-five mile radius of Columbus Circle in the borough of Manhattan.
  - § 3. This act shall take effect immediately.

28