## 4677--D

## 2015-2016 Regular Sessions

IN ASSEMBLY

February 5, 2015

- Introduced by M. of A. GALEF, PALUMBO, BARRON, THIELE, PAULIN, RODRI-GUEZ, BRINDISI, WOERNER, CORWIN, BARCLAY, RAIA, FINCH, LUPINACCI. DUPREY, MALLIOTAKIS, FRIEND, BRABENEC, McDONOUGH, TENNEY, TEDISCO, SKARTADOS, MOSLEY, WALTER, RA, MONTESANO, QUART, LOPEZ, MURRAY, McKEV-ITT, KEARNS, CUSICK, STEC, HAWLEY, MCLAUGHLIN, GRAF, JOHNS, DiPIETRO, CROUCH -- Multi-Sponsored by -- M. of A. CERETTO, GARBARINO, GIGLIO, PALMESANO -- read once and referred to the Committee on Governmental Operations -- committee discharged, bill amended, ordered reprinted as amended and recommitted to said committee -- again reported from said committee with amendments, ordered reprinted as amended and recommitto said committee -- recommitted to the Committee on Governmental ted Operations in accordance with Assembly Rule 3, sec. 2 -- committee discharged, bill amended, ordered reprinted as amended and recommitted said committee -- again reported from said committee with amendto ments, ordered reprinted as amended and recommitted to said committee
- AN ACT to amend the legislative law, in relation to limiting the amount of time any member of the legislature may serve as temporary president of the senate, speaker of the assembly, majority leader of the senate, majority leader of the assembly, minority leader of the senate, minority leader of the assembly or chairman of a legislative committee

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK, REPRESENTED IN SENATE AND ASSEMBLY, DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS:

1 Section 1. The legislative law is amended by adding two new sections 2 5-b and 5-c to read as follows:

3 S 5-B. LIMITATION ON TENURE OF TEMPORARY PRESIDENT, SPEAKER AND MINOR-4 LEADERS. NO MEMBER OF THE LEGISLATURE SHALL HOLD THE OFFICE OF ITY 5 TEMPORARY PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE, SPEAKER OF THEASSEMBLY, MAJORITY б LEADER OF THE SENATE, MAJORITY LEADER OF THE ASSEMBLY, MINORITY LEADER 7 OF THE SENATE OR MINORITY LEADER OF THE ASSEMBLY FOR MORE THAN EIGHT 8 YEARS.

EXPLANATION--Matter in ITALICS (underscored) is new; matter in brackets
[ ] is old law to be omitted.

LBD00211-11-6

S 5-C. LIMITATION ON TENURE OF LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE CHAIRMAN. NO
 MEMBER OF THE LEGISLATURE SHALL BE THE CHAIRMAN OF ANY SINGLE LEGISLA TIVE COMMITTEE FOR MORE THAN EIGHT CONSECUTIVE YEARS.
 S 2. This act shall take effect immediately.