LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the H. Frank Carey High School Football Team and Coach Mike Stanley upon the occasion of winning the prestigious Rutgers Cup, on December 11, 2013

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is proud to congratulate the H. Frank Carey High School Football Team, of Franklin Square, New York, and Coach Mike Stanley upon the occasion of winning the prestigious Rutgers Cup; the award was announced on Wednesday, December 11, 2013, at the Nassau County Football Coaches Association dinner in Woodbury, New York; and

WHEREAS, The Rutgers Cup is presented by the Rutgers Club of Long Island to the outstanding football team of the year; voted on by coaches, the H. Frank Carey High School Seahawks received 142 points and 46 first place votes to win this coveted prize for the second time in the team's history; and

WHEREAS, The H. Frank Carey Seahawks truly demonstrated its prowess as a team of exceptional versatility and dominance during its remarkable 2013 season; and

WHEREAS, The H. Frank Carey High School Seahawks captured its first Long Island Class II Championship in November 2013, achieving an impressive 12-0 record in the process; and

WHEREAS, In addition, this exemplary team are the Nassau County Champions; has been ranked Number 1 in New York State by the New York Sports Writers Association, Class A; and received the L.I.A.F.O. Sportsmanship Award for Conference 2; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coach Mike Stanley and his team of outstanding assistant coaches, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the H. Frank Carey High School Football Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the Championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coach Mike Stanley and his dedicated staff have done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment; and Coach Mike Stanley and his outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the H. Frank Carey High School Football Team; its members: Joseph Valli, Aidan Graham, Paul Langis, Casey Kloepfer, Kyle Bourne,

Michael De Leo, Raymond Catapano, Michael Catanese, Nickolas Spillane,

Andrew Ris, Jack Going, Scott Pitz, Travan Tapage, Nicolas Schlegel, James Carr, Dylan DeMeo, Matthew Robison, Luke Spano, James Riepe, Brett Campos, John Heyer, Dominick Munno, Nicholas Conte, Edward Sweeney, Martin Golden, Erick Vilchez, Conor Colasurdo, Michael Dominguez, Thomas Gallant, Joseph Lucito, Gabe Alejo, Giusseppe Palma, Ian Lake, Kevin Mutum, John Lipori, Pawel Koprowski, Anthony Lucito, Vincent Lisi, Anthony Catapano, Gary Roes, Robert Kelly, James Kadnar, Dominick Serio, Jesse Opitz, Jorge Cerquera, Dominic Greco, Robert Marino, Jack Esposito, Richard Katz, Thomas Mayer, and Taylor Steinberg; Assistant Coaches: Tom Aiello, Mike Cellan, Chris Spillane, and Ron Giaraffa; and Head Coach Mike Stanley on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the H. Frank Carey High School Football Team and to Coach Mike Stanley.