4761--A

## 2013-2014 Regular Sessions

## IN ASSEMBLY

## February 8, 2013

Introduced by M. of A. RUSSELL -- Multi-Sponsored by -- M. of A. BUTLER -- read once and referred to the Committee on Ways and Means -- committee discharged, bill amended, ordered reprinted as amended and recommitted to said committee

AN ACT to amend the tax law, in relation to authorizing the county of St. Lawrence to impose an additional one percent of sales and compensating use taxes

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK, REPRESENTED IN SENATE AND ASSEMBLY, DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS:

Section 1. Subparagraph (i) of the opening paragraph of section 1210 of the tax law is amended by adding a new clause 41 to read as follows:

2

5

6

7

8

12 13

14

15 16

17

18

19

20

- (41) THE COUNTY OF ST. LAWRENCE IS HEREBY FURTHER AUTHORIZED AND EMPOWERED TO ADOPT AND AMEND LOCAL LAWS, ORDINANCES OR RESOLUTIONS IMPOSING SUCH TAXES AT A RATE THAT IS ONE PERCENT ADDITIONAL TO THE THREE PERCENT RATE AUTHORIZED ABOVE IN THIS PARAGRAPH FOR SUCH COUNTY FOR THE PERIOD BEGINNING SEPTEMBER FIRST, TWO THOUSAND THIRTEEN AND ENDING NOVEMBER THIRTIETH, TWO THOUSAND FIFTEEN;
- 9 S 2. Subparagraph (iii) of the opening paragraph of section 1210 of 10 the tax law, as amended by chapter 74 of the laws of 2010, is amended to 11 read as follows:
  - (iii) the maximum rate referred to in section twelve hundred twentyfour of this article shall be calculated without reference to the
    following additional rates authorized in subparagraphs (i) and (ii) of
    this paragraph: one and one-half percent for the county of Allegany; one
    percent for the counties of Rensselaer, Erie, Cattaraugus, Wyoming,
    Ulster, Albany, Suffolk, Greene, Orleans, Franklin, Herkimer, Genesee,
    Columbia, Schuyler, Chenango, Monroe, Steuben, Chemung, Seneca, Livingston, Niagara, Yates, Tioga, Montgomery, Delaware, Wayne, Schoharie,
    Putnam, Clinton, ST. LAWRENCE and Onondaga and the cities of Yonkers,
    Mount Vernon and New Rochelle; three-quarters of one percent for the
- 21 Mount Vernon and New Rochelle; three-quarters of one percent for the
- 22 counties of Dutchess, Essex, Lewis, Orange, and Jefferson; one percent

EXPLANATION--Matter in ITALICS (underscored) is new; matter in brackets [ ] is old law to be omitted.

LBD08819-02-3

A. 4761--A 2

6 7

9 10

11

12

13

46

47 48

49

50

51

52

53

54

55

56

and three-quarters of one percent or one-half of one percent for the county of Oneida; three-quarters of one percent and one-half of one percent for the county of Nassau; one-half of one percent and one-quarter of one percent and one-quarter of one percent for the city of White Plains; one-half or one percent for the county of Tompkins; three-eighths of one percent and five-eighths of one percent for the county of Rockland; one-half of one percent for the counties of Putnam and Schenectady; one-eighth of one percent and three-eighths of one percent for the county of Ontario; one-half of one percent; one-half of one percent for the county of Sullivan; and three-quarters of one percent or one-half of one percent for the county of Chautauqua;

- S 3. Subdivision (a) of section 1223 of the tax law, as amended by chapter 74 of the laws of 2010, is amended to read as follows:
- 14 (a) No transaction taxable under sections twelve hundred two through 15 twelve hundred four of this article shall be taxed pursuant to this article by any county or by any city located therein, or by both, at an 16 aggregate rate in excess of the highest rate set forth in the applicable 17 section twelve hundred one of this article or, in the 18 subdivision of case of any taxes imposed pursuant to the authority of section twelve 19 hundred ten or twelve hundred eleven of this article (other than taxes 20 21 imposed by the county of Nassau, Erie, Steuben, Cattaraugus, 22 Oneida, Genesee, Greene, Franklin, Herkimer, Tioga, Orleans, Allegany, Ulster, Albany, Rensselaer, Tompkins, Wyoming, Columbia, Schuyler, Rock-23 24 land, Chenango, Monroe, Chemung, Seneca, Sullivan, Wayne, Livingston, 25 Schenectady, Montgomery, Delaware, Clinton, Niagara, Yates, Lewis, 26 Essex, Dutchess, Schoharie, Putnam, Chautauqua, Orange, Oswego, Ontario, Jefferson, ST. LAWRENCE or Onondaga and by the county of Cortland and 27 28 city of Cortland and by the county of Broome and the city of Bing-29 hamton and by the county of Cayuga and the city of Auburn and by the county of Otsego and the city of Oneonta and by the county of Madison 30 31 and the city of Oneida and by the county of Fulton and the city of 32 Gloversville or the city of Johnstown as provided in section twelve 33 hundred ten of this article) at a rate in excess of three percent, except that, in the city of Yonkers, in the city of Mount Vernon, in the 34 35 city of New Rochelle, in the city of Fulton and in the city of Oswego, the rate may not be in excess of four percent and in the city of White 36 37 Plains, the rate may not be in excess of four percent and except that in 38 the city of Poughkeepsie in the county of Dutchess, if such county with-39 draws from the metropolitan commuter transportation district pursuant to 40 section twelve hundred seventy-nine-b of the public authorities law and if the revenues from a three-eighths percent rate of such tax imposed by 41 such county, pursuant to the authority of section twelve hundred ten of this article, are required by local laws, ordinances or resolutions to 42 43 44 be set aside for mass transportation purposes, the rate may not be in 45 excess of three and three-eighths percent.
  - S 4. Section 1224 of the tax law is amended by adding a new subdivision (ii) to read as follows:
  - (II) THE COUNTY OF ST. LAWRENCE SHALL HAVE THE SOLE RIGHT **IMPOSE** ADDITIONAL ONE PERCENT RATE OF TAX WHICH SUCH COUNTY IS AUTHORIZED TO IMPOSE PURSUANT TO THE AUTHORITY OF SECTION TWELVE HUNDRED OF SUCH ADDITIONAL RATE OF TAX SHALL BE IN ADDITION TO ANY ARTICLE. OTHER TAX WHICH SUCH COUNTY MAY IMPOSE OR MAY BE IMPOSING **PURSUANT** ARTICLE OR ANY OTHER LAW AND SUCH ADDITIONAL RATE OF TAX SHALL NOT BE SUBJECT TO PREEMPTION. THE MAXIMUM THREE PERCENT RATE REFERRED TO THIS SECTION SHALL BE CALCULATED WITHOUT REFERENCE TO THE ADDITIONAL ONE PERCENT RATE OF TAX WHICH THE COUNTY OF ST. LAWRENCE IS AUTHORIZED AND

A. 4761--A 3

1 EMPOWERED TO ADOPT PURSUANT TO SECTION TWELVE HUNDRED TEN OF THIS ARTI-2 CLE.

- 3 S 5. Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, if the county of St. Lawrence enacts or amends a local law, ordinance or resolution to impose, effective on September 1, 2013, the additional one 5 percent additional rate of sales and compensating use taxes authorized 6 by this act, such local law, ordinance or resolution shall take effect 7 in accordance with the provisions of subdivision (d) of section 1210 of 8 9 the tax law, except that the minimum notice requirements to the commis-10 sioner of taxation and finance shall be deemed complied with if such county mails by certified or registered mail, a certified copy of such 11 local law, ordinance or resolution to such commissioner at his or her office in Albany on or before August 1, 2013. 12 13
- 14 S 6. This act shall take effect immediately.