LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Shoreham Wading River High School Girls Lacrosse Team and Coach Mary Bergmann upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Shoreham Wading River High School Girls Lacrosse Team are the New York State Champions; in addition, they were the Long Island and Suffolk County Champions; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coach Mary Bergmann, a skilled and inspirational tutor, respected for her ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Shoreham Wading River High School Girls Lacrosse Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a sisterhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coach Mary Bergmann has done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Mary Bergmann and the outstanding athletes on the Shoreham Wading River High School Girls Lacrosse Team have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Shoreham Wading River High School Girls Lacrosse Team; its members: Jessica Angerman, Clare Blomberg, Erin Blomberg, Katie Boden, Meredith Bushell, Paulina Constant, Isabella Cortes, Manuela Cortes, Lauren Daly, Alex Fehmel, Alyssa Fleming, Sayge Greeley, Meghan King, Lauren Lustgarten, Patricia Miller, Alyssa Pearce, Shannon Rosati, Emily Sopko, Rachel Steimel, Shannon Steimel, Heather Szymanski and AnneMarie Taggart and Coach Mary Bergmann and Assistant Coaches JM Jackson and Tara Stanley on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Shoreham Wading River High School Girls Lacrosse Team and to the aforementioned coaches.