LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the sixty-one Long Island students named Semifinalists in the 2012 Intel Science Talent Search

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to honor the youth of today, and leaders of tomorrow, whose character and achievements exemplify the ideals and values cherished by this great State and nation; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the sixty-one Long Island students named Semifinalists in the Intel Science Talent Search 2012, a program of Society for Science & the Public, an organization dedicated to public engagement in scientific research and education; and

WHEREAS, As the nation's oldest and most prestigious pre-college science competition, the Intel Science Talent Search brings together the best and brightest young scientific minds in the United States to compete for \$1.25 million in awards; and

WHEREAS, Long Island's sixty-one 2012 Science Talent Intel Search Semifinalists are: Anjali Agarwalla, Herricks High School, New Hyde Park; Rebecca Alford, Commack High School, Commack; Emily Bai, Great South High School, Great Neck; Hannah Blumberg, Paul D. Schreiber High School, Port Washington; Asia Brown, Sanford H. Calhoun High School, Merrick; Eric Caliendo, St. Anthony's High School, South Huntington; Anirudh Chandrashekar, Jericho Senior High School, Jericho; Sarah Chapin, Herricks High School, New Hyde Park; Kristine Chen, John L. Miller Great Neck North High School, Great Neck; Rachel Cohen, Schreiber High School, Port Washington; Juliana Coraor, Huntington High School, Huntington; David Davani, North Shore High School, Glen Head; Rachel Davis, Smithtown High School East, St. James; Malini Desai, Hollow Hills High School West, Dix Hills; Jill Dolowich, Jericho Senior High School, Jericho; Patricia Donskoy, George W. Hewlett High School, Hewlett; Parsa Erfani, Plainview-Old Bethpage John F. Kennedy High School, Plainview; Lily Fagin, North Shore High School, Glen Head; Samantha Fradkin, Plainview-Old Bethpage John F. Kennedy High School, Plainview; Samantha Garvey, Brentwood High School - Sonderling Center, Brett Gossett, John F. Kennedy High School, Bellmore; Sherilyn Gould, Plainview-Old Bethpage John F. Kennedy High School, Plain-Caroline Hsiao, Manhasset High School, Manhasset; Anoj Ilanges, Oceanside High School, Oceanside; Ross Iscowitz, John F. Kennedy High School, Bellmore; Hannah Kenagy, Half Hollow Hills High School East, Dix Hills; Savina Kim, Commack High School, Commack; Christine Kim, Jericho Senior High School, Jericho; Austin Lee, Commack High School, Commack; Clarie Leibowicz, John L. Miller Great Neck North High School, Great Neck; Mariam Makram, Plainview-Old Bethpage John F. Kennedy High School, Plainview; Neil Mehta, Jericho Senior High School, Jericho; Samuel Miller, Pierson High School, Sag Harbor; Amelia Morales, Kings Park High School, Kings Park; Rocco Morra, Ward Melville High School, Setauket; Eric Parigoris, Kings Park High School, Kings Park; Daniel Pollack, Roslyn Heights High School, Roslyn Heights; April Pun, Jericho Senior High School, Jericho; Mariyam Qureshi, Valley Stream South High School, Valley Stream; Sagar Rambhia, Jericho Senior High School, Jericho; Arjan Saraon, Paul D. Schreiber High School, Port Washington; Anna Sato, Ward Melville High School; Setauket; Evan Schneider, Roslyn Heights High School, Roslyn Heights; Shubha Sekar, Ward Melville High School, Setauk-Anuja Shah, Jericho Senior High School, Jericho; David Sheynberg, Oceanside High School, Oceanside; Ross Shulman, John F. Kennedy High School, Bellmore; Bilal Siddiqui, Wellington C. Mepham High School,

Bellmore; Daniel Sikavi, Roslyn High School, Roslyn; Melissa Slyper,

General Douglas MacArthur High School, Levittown; Jacklyn Sullivan, General Douglas MacArthur High School, Levittown; Casey Vieni, Plainedge High School, Massapequa; Shannon Wetzler, Kings Park High School, Kings Park; David Wu, Comsewogue High School, Port Jefferson Station; Susan Wu, John L. Miller Great Neck North High School, Great Neck; Alexander Wu, Roslyn High School, Roslyn; Jesse Xing, Ward Melville High School, Setauket; Garima Yadav, Sachem North High School, Lake Ronkonkoma; Jeong Yun Yang, Great Neck South High School, Great Neck; Patrick Yang, Great Neck South High School, Great Neck; Jack Zhou, Ward Melville High School, Setauket; and

WHEREAS, In achieving this high academic honor, these outstanding students may take just pride in the inspiration and contribution to the spirit of excellence they bring to their high schools, families and communities; and

WHEREAS, These outstanding students stand poised on the threshold of a broad and challenging world, a testament to the love and nurturing care of their families, teachers and friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the 61 Long Island students named Semifinalists in the 2012 Intel Science Talent Search, and to wish them continued success in all of their future endeavors; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to each of the aforementioned 2012 Intel Science Talent Search Semifinalists.