BY: M. of A. Manktelow

CONGRATULATING the Newark High School Girls Bowling Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2022 NYSPHSAA Division II Championship

WHEREAS, Individual and team championships are highly sought after in high school sports; this Legislative Body commends rare athletic achievements and pays special recognition to those who pursue such excellence and become examples for the youth of this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition helps to enhance both the moral and physical development of young athletes, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the importance of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Newark High School Girls Bowling Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2022 NYSPHSAA Division II Championship; and

WHEREAS, To the praise and applause of their excited fans, the Reds defeated Middleburgh High School by a margin of 307 pins to win the Championship title; and

WHEREAS, Proudly donning the school's colors of maroon and gray, family, friends, and the community-at-large loyally and enthusiastically supported the Reds throughout their journey as they ended their season with an impressive victory; and

WHEREAS, In a sport such as bowling, which demands athletic prowess, precision and adaptability, Coaches Mark Rowe and CJ Payne worked hard to hone the skills of this championship team, teaching these outstanding athletes lessons which will prove invaluable both on and off the lanes; and

WHEREAS, Coaches Mark Rowe and CJ Payne and all of the outstanding athletes on the Newark High School Girls Bowling Team have clearly utilized dedication, determination and teamwork in providing a lasting contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the members of the Newark High School Girls Bowling Team: Natalie Kent, Becca Spry, Emily Lang, Abbie Olmstead, Savannah Smith, Hannah Kinslow, Kelly Minery, Sienna Hasseler, Ainsley Vandermark, and Coaches Mark Rowe and CJ Payne on their outstanding season; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Newark High School Girls Bowling Team

and Coaches Mark Rowe and CJ Payne.