Assembly Resolution No. 687

BY: M. of A. Jones

**COMMEMORATING** the 50th Anniversary of the creation of the District No. 3 Fire Department of the Town of Plattsburgh, New York

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is proud to commemorate the 50th Anniversary of the District No. 3 Fire Department, and to honor its past and present firefighting members for half a century of fire protection to the citizens of Plattsburgh and its surrounding communities; and

WHEREAS, This auspicious milestone will be celebrated at its annual Inspection Dinner on Saturday, April 9, 2022, where Dennis Burnell, Roger Harwood, Wendell Burnell, George Giroux, Marcel Giroux, Gary Gudz and Edward Goslow will be recognized as Founding Members; and

WHEREAS, In the true spirit of community, the land on which the first station was to be built was donated by a resident, with a second station's construction to shortly follow; and

WHEREAS, Fire departments are an integral part of community protection services in every locality of our State; during the past 50 years, the courageous and devoted firefighters of Plattsburgh Fire District No. 3 have valiantly responded to all types of fire emergencies and have won the praise and respect of the community which they serve; and

WHEREAS, On July 1, 1971, the Department and District were chartered in the Town of Plattsburgh in order to better serve the residents, businesses, and guests of a growing commercial and residential area of the Town; and

WHEREAS, The members of the first Board of Commissioners who took office July 1, 1971, include Chairman, George Duprey; Secretary, Ken Dumas; Treasurer, Thomas Bushey; Commissioners, Leo Giroux, Gerald Garrard, Harold Alford, and Attorney, Allen Light; and

WHEREAS, The first officers of the Department were Chief, Ken Dumas; Assistant Chiefs, Roger Harwood and James Case; President, Homer Fournier; Vice President, Donald Rock; Secretary, Wendell Burnell, and Treasurer, Bruce Eaton; and

WHEREAS, Charter members included Floyd Dominy, Ezriel Reome, Wendell Burnell, Roger Harwood, Ken Dumas, George Giroux, Gary Gudz, Edward Goslow, George Benchskey, Marcel Giroux, Dennis Burnell and Calvin Haskins; and

WHEREAS, The brave firefighters of District No. 3 of Plattsburgh are prepared to risk their lives every day to help save the lives of others and to protect homes and property from the destruction caused by fire; and WHEREAS, The District No. 3 Department has been a leader in the North Country, providing life safety and education services to their neighbors; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body cannot express enough gratitude to those devoted individuals who recognize that the preservation of life and property is a sacred responsibility and who make that responsibility their own by serving as firefighters; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that we should give special recognition to those who work so assiduously for the betterment of their communities, and acknowledge publicly the heroic good works performed by the volunteer fire departments of this great Empire State, their officers and auxiliaries; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commemorate the 50th Anniversary of the creation of the District No. 3 Fire Department of the Town of Plattsburgh, New York; and be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the District No. 3 Fire Department.