LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION honoring the Columbia High School Science Olympiad Team upon the occasion of winning the New York State Science Olympiad Competition

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to commend and pay tribute to those who, by achieving outstanding success in their educational and scientific endeavors, have inspired and brought pride to our majestic Empire State; and

WHEREAS, It is also the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize the dedication and commitment of our young people who distinguish themselves through excellence in science competition; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to honor the Columbia High School Science Olympiad Team upon the occasion of winning the New York State Science Olympiad Competition on Saturday, March 14 at LeMoyne College in Syracuse, New York, advancing them to the National Championship to be held May 15-16, 2015, at the University of Nebraska; and

WHEREAS, Prior to winning the State Competition, the Columbia High School Science Olympiad Team captured the Regional Championship on February 7, 2015, at The College of Saint Rose, marking the 22nd time in the last 23 years the team has taken home the regional championship; and WHEREAS, The Columbia High School Science Olympiad Team members include: Danielle Allen, Avery Ball, Parth Bhide, Eric Chen, Katelin Grifferty, Peter Herrick, Katie Hutton, Evan Iler, Hailey Konisky, Will LaHera, Timothy MacDonald, Tucker McKeown, Caitlin Muir, Matthew VanAuken, Sarina Xin, and Yang Yang; and

WHEREAS, The Science Olympiad is a national non-profit organization dedicated to improving the quality of K-12 science education, increasing male, female and minority interest in science, creating a technologically-literate workforce and providing for recognition for outstanding achievement by both students and teachers; these goals are achieved by participating in Science Olympiad tournaments and non-competitive events, incorporating Science Olympiad into classroom curriculum and attending teacher training institutes; and

WHEREAS, The Science Olympiad mission is to promote and improve student interest in science and to improve the quality of Kindergarten through grade 12 science education throughout the Nation; and

WHEREAS, The vision of the Science Olympiad is to: create a passion for learning science by supporting elementary and secondary Science Olympiad tournaments at building, district, county, state and national levels with an emphasis on teamwork and a commitment to excellence; improve the quality of K-12 science education throughout the Nation by changing the way science is perceived and the way it is taught, with an emphasis on problem solving and hands-on, minds-on, constructivist learning practices; celebrate and recognize the outstanding achievement of both students and teachers in the areas of science and technology; and promote partnerships among community, businesses, industry, government and education; and

WHEREAS, Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) is becoming an exceedingly popular and driving field in New York's economy and Science Olympiad programs are influential in preparing students to be leaders in STEM and at the forefront of emerging science and technology; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Diana Prout and Assistant Coaches Darleen Morgan and Bruce Palmer guided their team with exemplary wisdom, ingenuity, courage and knowledge and should be commended for their dedication to

the Science Olympiad program and improving the prestige of Columbia High

School; and

WHEREAS, It is appropriate to celebrate the educational and scientific accomplishments of remarkable schools such as the East Greenbush School District, and its students, coaches and teachers; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor the Columbia High School Science Olympiad Team upon the occasion of winning the New York State Science Olympiad Competition; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Columbia High School Science Olympiad Team, Head Coach Diana Prout, and Assistant Coaches Darleen Morgan and Bruce Palmer.