LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Rye High School Crew Team, Head Coaches Stan Nelson and Catherine Labine and Assistant Coaches Diana Gryszkiewicz, Peter Furest, and Aleks Radovic on a phenomenal 2015-2016 season and for their excellent performances at the New York State Championships

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, The Rye Garnets had an outstanding performance this year at the New York State Championships in Saratoga on May 14th and 15th; competing against 14 crew teams from around New York State, the Garnets finished with impressive results: the Women's teams placed 4th in both the 4x- Women's Freshmen Quad and the 8+ Women's Juniors Eight; the Men's teams finished 1st in the 4+ Men's Light weight, 2nd in the 2- Men's Varsity Pair, 4th in the 4x- Men's Varsity Quad, 6th in the 4+ Men's Freshmen Four, and 8+ Men's Freshmen Quad; and

WHEREAS, The Rye High School Garnets Men's Varsity Lightweight 4+ team continued to set the bar high for excellence by earning a Silver medal in an elite qualifying group of 18 high school teams from around the country at the Scholastic Rowing Association of America's National Championship Regatta in Nashport, Ohio over Memorial Day weekend; and

WHEREAS, A sport that began as a club team with only seven members in its inaugural season in 2007, has grown into a 55-member varsity team in 2016; while crew is a relatively young sport in Rye, the teamwork that the 2015-16 team displayed definitely lives up to Rye's rigorous sport standards in every respect; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coaches Stan Nelson and Catherine Labine, whose skills and inspirational leadership are respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, Varsity Crew is a sport that requires an immense amount of commitment, from waking up at four in the morning for daily practices to attending numerous regattas on weekends in and out of New York State; the loyalty and enthusiasm displayed by the team's family, fans and friends are second to none, with carpools scheduled daily for practices and donations of home cooked food provided by the parents at all the regattas; and

WHEREAS, Out of the water, team members are the definition of student athletes with many receiving National Honor Society designations, demonstrating their capability of balancing a rigorous sport with a demanding academic schedule; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition instills the values of teamwork, sports-manship, pride and accomplishment; Head Coaches Stan Nelson, Catherine Labine, their coaching staff and all of the outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence that is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Boys and Girls Rye Crew team; its members: Michael Batal, Arthur Burke, Teddy Clark, Tyler Clickner, Nolan Clickner, Jimmy Cronin, John Dailey, Shoshana Daniels, Liam Davey, Alex Farres, Greta Filor, Ethan Fogarty, Abigail Foresman, Emily Frase, Troy Gilman, Victor Gomez, Andy Gomez, Panikos Hadjipanayis, Jack Hartman, Samantha Herzog, Emily Jackson, Felicity Johnson, Izzy Kacha, Bergin Keegan, Erica Kinste, Kelsey Myers, Alexandra Kirk, Hall Luthringer, Eduardo Malespin, John McFarland, Blake McGowan, Lilly McLoughlin, Joe Melfi, Jake Moore, Robert Nelson, Lachlan Nelson, Chrissy Nisi, Sophie Pankoff, Kayla

Patel, Steffi Rodilosso, Timothy Rudolph-Math, Adam Rudolph-Math, Shan-

non Ryan, Dylan Senkiw, Isobel Spence, Nola Storey, Alex Sutherland, Iman Syed, Zachary Szabo, Mina Takegami, Christian Sutherland, Ben Turk, Josh Turk, Parker Vanamee, and Liam Wilson; Head Coaches Stan Nelson and Catherine Labine and Assistant Coaches Diana Gryszkiewicz, Peter Furest, and Aleks Radovic on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the Rye Crew Team, Head Coaches Stan Nelson and Catherine Labine and Assistant Coaches Diana Gryszkiewicz, Peter Furest, and Aleks Radovic.