LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Olean High School Boys Varsity Basketball Team upon the occasion of capturing the 2016 New York State Class B Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Olean High School Boys Varsity Basketball Team captured the 2016 New York State Class B Championship with an exciting 56-45 win over Marlboro on Saturday, March 12, 2016, at the Glens Falls Civic Center; and

WHEREAS, With this victory, the Huskies achieved the team's second Class B Championship since 2008; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Jeff Anastasia, a skilled and inspirational tutor, respected for his ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record of 28-1 is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coach Jeff Anastasia has done a superb job in guiding, molding, and inspiring the team toward their goals; this was the winningest season in school history; and

WHEREAS, Interscholastic athletic competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Jeff Anastasia and the outstanding athletes on the Olean High School Boys Varsity Basketball Team have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Olean High School Boys Varsity Basketball Team; its members: Derek Schmidt, Monty Shoemaker, Dylan Spencer, Ben Eckstrom, Elijah Ramadhan, Dell Butler, Zach Ryan, Malakye Wofford, Jacob Cavana, Derek Dandrea, Luke Rogers, Joe Jedrosko, Mike Schmidt, Josh Bihler and Luke Chapman on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to congratulate the Olean High School Boys Varsity Basketball Team and to Coach Jeff Anastasia.