LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the New Rochelle Varsity Football Team and Coach Lou DiRienzo upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Class AA Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The New Rochelle Huguenots captured their second New York State Class AA Football title by defeating Orchard Park by a score of 34-6 at the Carrier Dome in Syracuse, New York, on November 24, 2012; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coach Lou DiRienzo, a skilled and inspirational tutor, respected for his ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The team, finishing the season with an impressive 11-1 record, were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the New Rochelle Varsity Football Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the championship, were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coach Lou DiRienzo has done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Lou DiRienzo and all of the outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the New Rochelle Varsity Football Team; its members: Keimon Barrow, Terrence Holden, Jason Ceneus, Wjhante Holden, Gavin Harley, Encarnacion, Tajmir Anderson, Joseph Clarke, Jr., Khalil Edney, Ahmad Nas Sinkfeld-Shelton, David Hudson, Max Diamond, Cameron White, Tyrique Mario Pierre, Charlie Anthony, Jon Forrest, Conlan Thompson, Rideau, Kyvon Campbell, Carmine Giordano, Marlon Riley, Amir Sharif, Tariq Leadbetter, Shayne Forbes, Bryce Davis, Edwyn Johnson, Brandon Trotta, Steven Noake, Enrique Valencia, Perri Chandler, Cory Holder, Kevin Darden, Will Clark, Ray Ganley, Anthony Williams, Charles Ortiz, Justin Douglas, Kyrel Stevenson, Vincent David, Ronak Kenia, Max Theobalds, Jasper Baskerville, Ryan Pryor, Demetrius Rodriquez and Jack Stern; Head Coach Lou DiRienzo, and Assistant Coaches Greg Foster, Rich Tassello, Keith Fagan, Brian Violante, Phil Spivack, Ray Rhett, Tom Drago, and Theo Washington on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the New Rochelle Varsity Football Team, Coach Lou DiRienzo, and the Assistant Coaches.