LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Skaneateles Girls Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Class C Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive team sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, teamwork, and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize those young people within the State of New York who, by achieving outstanding success in athletic competition, have inspired and brought pride to their school and community; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Skaneateles Girls Lacrosse Team defeated Cold Spring Harbor High School with a score of 12-11 on June 7, 2014, at SUNY-Cortland, to win the New York State Class C Championship; and

WHEREAS, This marked the program's first State Class C championship since 2006, and the third State title in program history, the result of the team's determination, grit, and character; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the Skaneateles Girls Lacrosse Team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Bridget Marquardt and Assistant Coaches Steve Rice and Katie Rozak; these skilled coaches have helped develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the Skaneateles Girls Lacrosse season, members of the team were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, friends and fans from throughout the entire community; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Skaneateles Girls Lacrosse Team rallied behind one another in establishing a sisterhood of athletic ability and good sportsmanship, while demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, these outstanding players proved to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school, Skaneateles High School, as well as the Central New York community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Skaneateles Girls Lacrosse Team, its members: Kyla Sears, Mae McGlynn, Makena Gorman, Elizabeth Lane, Abby Kuhns, Tate Green, Molly Wood, Hannah Powers, Casey Vanslyke, Nicole Beatson, Molly Newton, Hannah Logan, Natalie Roche, Bailey Herr, Molly Rourke, Catie Woodruff, Lauren Goodchild, Emmeline Graham, Kristen Pille, Alana Navaroli, Malorie Olin, Jessica Pileski, Bella Falcone, and Emily Baldwin, Head Coach Bridget Marquardt and Assistant Coaches Steve Rice and Katie Rozak on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Skaneateles Girls Lacrosse Team, Head Coach Bridget Marquardt, and Assistant Coaches Steve Rice and Katie Rozak.