LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of winning its Sixth Consecutive National Championship Title

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved through strenuous practice, teamwork and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize and pay tribute to those young people within the State of New York who, by achieving outstanding success in athletic competition, have inspired and brought pride to their college and community; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team won its sixth consecutive National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) championship on Sunday, May 11, 2014, by defeating Nassau Community College 12-7 in Uniondale, NY; the OCC Men's Lacrosse Team finished the 2014 season 17-0; and

WHEREAS, The win marked the eighth national title in the program's history; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the skilled and supportive efforts of Head Coach Chuck Wilbur and Assistant Coaches Mike Villano, Joe Villano, Chris Brim, Vinnie Alexander, Brian Griffin, and Nick Gatto; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the season, members of the Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team also were loyally and enthusiastically supported by their family, fans, friends, and the Central New York community at large; and

WHEREAS, The Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team rallied behind one another in establishing a brotherhood of athletic ability, good sportsmanship, honor and scholarship, while demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team proved to be an unbeatable combination of talents, contributing to the spirit of excellence that is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team; its members: Luke Smith, Parrish Young, Tom Pritchard, Kieondre Woody, Zach Willie Johnson, Chris Rabung, Tyler Kopen, Logan Ball, Tim Sealy, Barber, Patrick McMahon, Logan Thomas, Dan Scanlon, Rob Elbers, Seth Courtland Black-Araujo, Clay Fichenscher, Kyle Clarkson, Zach Leonard, Lohman, Adam Bomberry, Kenny Tomeno, Kevin Klaiber, Scott Kirchner, Harris, Nicholas Garbarino, Travis Head, Zachary Bulak, Jason Steve Ketchoyian, Mac Morgan, Jake Weddell, Kyle Leeming, Kevin Haggerty, Jeff Conley, Chandler Allen, Dane Bentley, Collin Twombly, Tyson Bell, Anthony Zangari, Chris Sargent, Wayne Hill, Oakley Thomas, Sam Hatem, and Sean Rhodes; Head Coach Chuck Wilbur on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to members of the Onondaga Community College Men's Lacrosse Team, and the aforementioned coaches.