LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Onondaga Thunder Bantam Travel Tier III 14U Boys Hockey Team upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through disciplined practice, strong teamwork, and good sportsmanship, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of hard work, and by encouraging a standard of healthy living; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize and pay tribute to those young athletic teams within the State of New York that, by achieving outstanding success in athletic competition, have inspired and brought great pride to their communities; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is hereby justly proud to congratulate the Onondaga Thunder Bantam Travel Tier III 14-Under Boys Hockey Team upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Championship Title; the tournament was hosted by the New York State Amateur Hockey Association in Amherst on March 9, 2014; and

WHEREAS, In order to advance to the final championship round, the Onondaga Thunder Bantam Tier III 14U Boys Hockey Team defeated the Cortland Flames in the semifinals; and

WHEREAS, Then at the final game, the Onondaga Thunder Bantam Travel Tier III 14U Boys Hockey Team defeated the Tri-Town Timberwolves with a score of 5-1 to capture the New York State Championship; and

WHEREAS, The win marked the second consecutive state championship for the Onondaga Thunder Bantam Travel Tier III 14U Boys Hockey Team; and

WHEREAS, No team can succeed without outstanding skill and talent throughout its entire roster; such as is the case for the Onondaga Thunder Bantam Travel Tier III 14U Boys Hockey Team whose members include: John D. Austin, Tyler Bonferraro, Peyton Bowler, Douglas M. DeMarche III, William Eimas-Dietrich, Carson Ferguson, Matthew Goddard, Christopher Hurley II, Anthony Jetter, Aidan Jordan, Benjamin Marschall, Cole Mathews, Benjamin McCreary, Alex R. Padula, Thomas B. Ryu, Liam I. Sherwood, Jonathan Smolen, Mikkal Toia, and Roger C. Wagner III; and

WHEREAS, The talent displayed by the Onondaga Thunder Bantam Travel Tier III 14U Boys Hockey team is due in great part to the constant encouragement and dedicated efforts of Head Coaches Robert A. Padula and Curtis Jetter, and Team Manager Susan Carey; and

WHEREAS, Participation in athletic competition instills in our youth the important values of teamwork, pride, and accomplishment, and the players and coaches of the Onondaga Thunder Bantam Travel Tier III 14U Boys Hockey Team have clearly contributed to the pride of their Central New York community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Onondaga Thunder Bantam Travel Tier III 14U Boys Hockey Team upon the occasion of capturing the New York State Tier III 14U Championship Title; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the players and coaches of the Onondaga Thunder Bantam Travel Tier III 14U Boys Hockey Team.