LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION honoring the Onondaga Senior Babe Ruth All-Stars upon the occasion of winning the 2012 Babe Ruth World Series

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive team sports can be achieved only thorough strenuous practice, and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success, and by developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize our young individuals, who strive for athletic and academic excellence through rigorous training and mental and physical discipline; and

WHEREAS, The Onondaga Senior Babe Ruth All-Stars, comprised of 16 to 18 year-old students throughout Onondaga County, New York, captured the 2012 Babe Ruth League World Series title on August 4, 2012; and

WHEREAS, No team can succeed without talent throughout the entire roster, as is the case for the Onondaga Senior Babe Ruth All-Stars; Chris Davis, Zach Tucker, Avery Brooks, Scott Blewett, Pat Wright, Ryan O'Kane, Joe Pokrentowski, Brett Charbonneau, Ryan O'Neil, Eric Hamilton, Alex Caruso, Andrew Sanders, Ciro Frontale, Conor Nolan, Josh Savacool and Nick Pilotti; and

WHEREAS, The Onondaga Senior Babe Ruth All-Stars is the first New York team to capture the championship in 22 years since Staten Island in 1990; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the Onondaga Senior Babe Ruth All-Stars is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach and Team Manager Ted Klamm and Coaches Mark Kelley and John Delpan, who are skilled and inspirational mentors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The Onondaga Senior Babe Ruth All-Stars' overall record (9-1) was outstanding and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, friends, and the community as a whole; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, members of the Onondaga Babe Ruth All-Stars have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talent, reflecting favorably on the community they represent; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach and Team Manager Ted Klamm and Coaches Mark Kelley and John Deplan have done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring team members of the Onondaga Senior Babe Ruth All-Stars toward their goals; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate and commend the Onondaga Senior Babe Ruth All-Stars upon the occasion of winning the 2012 Babe Ruth League World Series; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to members of the Onondaga Senior Babe Ruth All-Stars.