LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the CNY United Power Soccer Team upon the occasion of winning the 2012 National Power Soccer Tournament

WHEREAS, Excellence in competitive team sports is achieved only through strenuous practice, determination and strategic planning, nurtured by dedicated coaching; and

WHEREAS, The people of the State of New York take great pride in honoring those talented individuals, who distinguish themselves and their community through outstanding team spirit, character and athletic performance; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to hereby recognize and congratulate CNY United upon the occasion of winning the 2012 National Power Soccer Tournament; and

WHEREAS, CNY United, a power soccer team in Central New York, was founded in 2005; the 2012 team was comprised of these members: Skyler Canute, Andrew Cunningham, Ryan Charboneau, Tony Reuter, Peyton Sefick, Hunter Schaffer, Hali Whyland, Morgan Reakes, Helena Schmidt, Sarah Hamlin, and Anthony Guarino; and

WHEREAS, Power soccer, which is played by athletes in motorized wheel-chairs, requires a great deal of teamwork, court sense, patience, vision, and timing; and

WHEREAS, After months of rigorous practice and travel for out-of-state competitions, CNY United qualified for the 2012 National Power Soccer Tournament, which was held in Fort Wayne, Indiana, on July 15, 2012; and WHEREAS, CNY United finished 4-0-1 in the 2012 National Power Soccer Tournament, after beating the home team of Fort Wayne with a score of 3-1 during the tournament's championship game; and

WHEREAS, CNY United prevailed victorious during the 2012 National Power Soccer Tournament due to the unbeatable combination of outstanding talent, sportsmanship, team effort, and perseverance; and

WHEREAS, The notable efforts displayed by CNY United are due in great part to the dedicated forces of Head Coach Jim Sefick and Assistant Coach Tom Cunningham, along with Equipment Manager Ken Keppel, Mark Charboneau, and Alis Sefick; and

WHEREAS, Members of CNY United have also received the loyal support of family, friends and the community at large throughout the entire season; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to recognize and congratulate CNY United upon the occasion of winning the 2012 National Power Soccer Tournament; the travel team members are Skyler Canute, Andrew Cunningham, Ryan Charboneau, Tony Reuter, and Peyton Sefick; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the athletes and coaches of CNY United.