LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION honoring the Octavo Singers upon the occasion of celebrating their 80th Anniversary

WHEREAS, The State of New York takes great pride in acknowledging significant milestones in the distinguished histories of its esteemed entities; and

WHEREAS, Octavo Singers will celebrate its 80th Anniversary throughout 2013; and

WHEREAS, The chorus was originally formed with funds through the federal Works Progress Administration (WPA); and

WHEREAS, Members enjoyed singing as a way to alleviate the many difficulties of the Great Depression; and

WHEREAS, When WPA funds ran out, Octavo Singers was formed by those members who wished to continue singing; and

WHEREAS, There were 50 founding members of all backgrounds; some were professionally trained singers; and

WHEREAS, The first director of the Octavo Singers was Gordon Mason, who led the group from the 1933-1934 season until the 1969-1970 season; and

WHEREAS, George G. Moross assumed leadership until his untimely death in 2010; he introduced orchestral accompaniment to the performances, as well as lesser-known works and commissioned compositions by local composers Thomas Savoy, Cici Hunt, Joseph Orietas, and Brian Hoffman; and

WHEREAS, Curtis Funk has served as director since March of 2011; and WHEREAS, Octavo Singers has a long and distinguished history of providing high quality performances for the community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to honor the Octavo Singers upon the occasion of their 80th Anniversary; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Curtis Funk, Director, Octavo Singers.