LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commending the Women's League of Science and Medicine, Inc. upon the occasion of hosting its 2nd Annual Scholarship Awards Breakfast on August 3, 2013, and congratulating its fine scholarship recipients

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize that the quality and character of life in the communities across New York State are reflective of the concerned and dedicated efforts of those organizations and individuals who would devote themselves to the welfare of the community and its citizenry; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commend the Women's League of Science and Medicine, Inc. upon the occasion of hosting its 2nd Annual Scholarship Awards Breakfast, and to congratulate its fine scholarship recipients; this festive event will be held on Saturday, August 3, 2013, at El Caribe Country Club Caterers, Brooklyn, New York; and

WHEREAS, The theme of this year's Annual Scholarship Breakfast is: Striving for Success in the 21st Century; and

WHEREAS, On March 6, 1960, two visionary women recognized the necessity of preparing more professionals for the medical and science fields; these women, Reva M. Anthony and the late Sarah Parsons Blow, reached out to their communities and, with the response of nine intrepid individuals, the Women's League of Science and Medicine, Inc. was established; and

WHEREAS, For more than 50 years, this outstanding organization has awarded more than 680 scholarships and citations to high school, college and pre-med students pursuing careers in science, medicine, nursing, and allied medicine; the League also established an annual scholarship fund at Midwood High School's Science Institute at Brooklyn College, and has donated generously to the United Negro College Fund; and

WHEREAS, This year's Scholarship awardees include: Osesumwen J. Asemota, Brittany T. Baker, Dana Hagans, Amira G. Gee, Jared K. Jacob, Carla Marcia-Cervantes, Brianna T. Smith, Lailah Y. Thompson, Terence Velez-Santiago, and Emelio L. Woodstock; and

WHEREAS, The Women's League of Science and Medicine, Inc. has been under the able directions of four presidents: the late Sarah Parsons Blow, who served faithfully for 15 years; Reva M. Anthony who led for 27 years; Ellen F. Haywood who carried the mantle of leadership for 10 years, and the current president, Beverly Jones-Lawrence, who was elected in 2012; and

WHEREAS, As they journey through the new millennium, the members of the Women's League of Science and Medicine, Inc. will build on their extraordinary legacy for years to come, helping generations of aspiring students to reach their fullest potential; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body that when organizations of such noble aims and accomplishments are brought to our attention, they should be celebrated and recognized by all the citizens of this great Empire State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commend the Women's League of Science and Medicine, Inc. upon the occasion of hosting its 2nd Annual Scholarship Awards Breakfast on August 3, 2013, and to congratulate its fine scholarship recipients; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Beverly Jones-Lawrence, President, Women's League of Science and Medicine, Inc., and the aforementioned scholarship recipients.