LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Christian Brothers Academy Girls Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of winning the New York State Class B Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, teamwork and a dedicated coaching staff; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize those young people within the State of New York who, by achieving outstanding success in athletic competition, have inspired and brought pride to their school and community; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, On June 8, 2013, the Christian Brothers Academy Girls Lacrosse Team defeated Brighton High School with a score of 14-7 to secure the New York State Class B Championship title, the team's second state title in three years; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, these outstanding lacrosse players and students proved to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school and community; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by the Christian Brothers Academy Girls Lacrosse Team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach Doug Sedgwick, Assistants Claire Sedgwick, Fran Webster and Pat Britton, Principal Brother Joe Jozwiak, Trainer Randy Kinn, and Athletic Director Buddy Wleklinski; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the entire lacrosse season, players on the Christian Brothers Academy Girls Lacrosse Team were always loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, friends and fans from throughout the entire community; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Christian Brothers Academy Girls Lacrosse Team rallied behind one another in establishing a sisterhood of athletic ability and good sportsmanship, demonstrating the importance of teamwork, focus and determination; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Christian Brothers Academy Girls Lacrosse Team upon the occasion of the team's New York State Class B Championship whose members are: Alyssa Pitonzo, Amanda Fess, Lexi Luthringer, Hailey Dobbins, Adriana Fess, Kate Derrenbacker, Alexa Radziewicz, Evie Lopoo, Marisa Romeo, Rachel Vercillo, Maddie Cook, Sydney Murphy, Rachel Perla, Rachel Ziemba, Olivia Pitonzo, Alexandria Fess, Maddie Calkins, Taylor Poplawski, Katie Anderson, Hannah Werner, Emily Ehle, Alea Bonner, Lillie Hunt, and Bella Corieri; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned players and coaches of the Christian Brothers Academy Girls Lacrosse Team.