LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the three Girl Scouts from the West Hempstead/Franklin Square Association of Girl Scouts upon the occasion of receiving the distinguished Girl Scout Gold Award, the most prestigious of Scouting honors, on May 31, 2013

WHEREAS, These exemplary Girl Scouts, through their diligence and rigorous efforts, have achieved Scouting's highest and most prestigious honor, the Girl Scout Gold Award; the ceremony will be held on Friday, May 31, 2013, at Washington Street School in Franklin Square, New York; and

WHEREAS, Faith Fishkin and Melissa Voellm are members of Girl Scouts of America Troop 1422, and Sara Stiklickas is a member of Girl Scouts of America Troop 1345; and

WHEREAS, America has achieved her greatest heights of glory through the dedication, determination and tireless efforts of the outstanding citizens of this Nation; and

WHEREAS, It is only with the continued diligence and devotion of our youth, tomorrow's leaders, that America will maintain her glory; and

WHEREAS, The Girl Scouts of America and its members are dedicated to the development of character and leadership in the youth of this Nation; and

WHEREAS, Since 1980, Senior Girl Scouts have capped their years of achievement in Girl Scouting with the Girl Scout Gold Award; and

WHEREAS, In order to earn the Girl Scout Gold Award, a girl must fulfill five requirements; chief among them is the design and completion of a Gold Award Project; this project must build upon the interests of the girl, provide a service to the community, and be of lasting benefit; and

WHEREAS, These outstanding young women have been involved in Scouting for years, have lived up to Scouting's ideals and have attained all of the necessary achievements; and

WHEREAS, These three Girl Scouts are a credit to their families, their schools, their communities, their State and their Nation, and no doubt their future will be filled with accomplishments of equal importance; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations, in recognition of the significance of this meritorious achievement, to congratulate and honor Faith Fishkin, Melissa Voellm, and Sara Stiklickas upon the occasion of their designation as recipients of the Girl Scout Gold Award; and be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Faith Fishkin, Melissa Voellm, and Sara Stiklickas.