LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Saratoga Springs High School NASA Club upon the occasion of their designation as participants in the Team America Rocketry Challenge National Finals

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to commend and pay tribute to those who, by achieving outstanding success in their educational and scientific endeavors, have inspired and brought pride to our majestic Empire State; and

WHEREAS, It is also the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize the dedication and commitment of our young people who distinguish themselves through excellence in science competition; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its longstanding traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Saratoga Springs High School NASA Club upon the occasion of their designation as participants in the Team America Rocketry Challenge National Finals; and

WHEREAS, Members of Saratoga Springs High School's NASA Club became celebrities as one of only two groups in the State of New York to qualify for the Team America Rocketry Challenge National Finals; and

WHEREAS, There were 725 teams that competed nationally for the finals, and Saratoga Springs's High School NASA Club was one of 100 teams selected to compete in the national rocketry competition on May 11, 2013, in The Plains, Virginia; to qualify for the national competition, the Saratoga Springs High School NASA Club acquired the necessary resources to design, build and fly a rocket carrying a raw egg to an altitude of 750 feet, and then land it without breaking the egg; and

WHEREAS, After weeks of practicing, the Saratoga Springs High School NASA Club completed a successful flight under the observation of a mentor from the National Association of Rocketry; and

WHEREAS, The Team America Rocketry Challenge (TARC) is the world's largest rocket contest, sponsored by the Aerospace Industries Association and the National Association of Rocketry; and

WHEREAS, Approximately 7,000 students from across the nation compete in TARC each year; teams design, build and fly a model rocket that reaches a specific altitude and duration determined by a set of rules developed each year; the contest is designed to encourage students to study math and science and pursue careers in aerospace; and

WHEREAS, The outstanding members of the Saratoga Springs High School NASA Club are: Connor McFarland, Charlie McCabe, Jay Murray, Steve Leonard, Mike Gregory and Michael Young; and

WHEREAS, It is appropriate to celebrate the individual accomplishments of remarkable students in this great Empire State; and

WHEREAS, This Legislative Body is justly proud to congratulate the Saratoga Springs High School NASA Club for their noteworthy educational and scientific endeavors and achievements; their outstanding performance has clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school and community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Saratoga Springs High School NASA Club upon the occasion of their designation as participants in the Team America Rocketry Challenge National Finals; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the aforementioned members of the Saratoga Springs High School NASA Club.