LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION commending six Amsterdam High School student filmmakers upon the occasion of being named winners in C-SPAN's Student-Cam 2013 competition

WHEREAS, It is the intent of this Legislative Body to recognize and pay tribute to those young people who, by achieving outstanding success in educational competition, have inspired and brought pride to our majestic Empire State; and

WHEREAS, Attendant to such concern, and in full accord with its long-standing traditions, this Legislative Body is justly proud to commend six Amsterdam High School student filmmakers upon the occasion of being named winners in C-SPAN's StudentCam 2013 competition; the students will be honored by representatives from C-SPAN and Time Warner Cable on Wednesday, May 1, 2013, at their school; and

WHEREAS, StudentCam is an annual documentary competition that encourages students to create short films about political and public policy matters; this year's theme, "Message to the President," asked middle and high school students to put together a five to eight minute documentary on the most important issue they think the president should consider this year; and

WHEREAS, Two outstanding videos were submitted by students from Amsterdam High School, earning them places among the top 75 StudentCam winners out of a total 1,893 entries submitted from 44 states, the District of Columbia, and Taiwan; and

WHEREAS, Francesca Boyer, Maddie DeLuca, and Karleigh Madej earned an Honorable Mention for their video, "Our Future"; and

WHEREAS, Brett Stanavich, Harrison Flint, and Brittany Roux earned an Honorable Mention for their video, "Stop Teen Violence"; and

WHEREAS, Educational competitions which serve to better prepare our students for future participation in the marketplace of ideas are worthy of praise and support; and

WHEREAS, Poised eagerly with enthusiasm and determined purpose, these scholars now stand honorably, with just pride in their accomplishments and in eager anticipation of future challenges, understanding and appreciating the caring counsel and support provided by their teachers, advisors, and parents; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to commend six Amsterdam High School student filmmakers upon the occasion of being named winners in C-SPAN's StudentCam 2013 competition; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to Francesca Boyer, Maddie DeLuca, Karleigh Madej, Brett Stanavich, Harrision Flint, and Brittany Roux.