LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION honoring the 2012-2013 University at Albany's Women's Basketball Team upon the occasion of advancing to the NCAA Women's Basketball National Tournament and on its outstanding season

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The University at Albany's Women's Basketball Team went 27-4 overall, and undefeated at 16-0 in the America East Conference (7th undefeated conference schedule in league history and the first in school history); and

WHEREAS, The UAlbany Women's Basketball Team won the America East Conference Title by defeating the University of Hartford 61-52 at the SEFCU Arena in Albany, New York, on Saturday, March 16, 2013; going into this game, UAlbany was ranked No. 10 in collegeinsider.com's mid-major top 25; and

WHEREAS, After participating last year, it was only the second time in school history that the UAlbany Women's Basketball Team qualified for the NCAA tournament; the Great Danes went up against the University of North Carolina, a national powerhouse in the first round at the University of Delaware's Bob Carpenter Center in Newark, Delaware, on Sunday, March 24, 2013, as a No. 14 seed; and

WHEREAS, During the 2012-2013 season, the Great Danes of the University at Albany won 19 straight games; for the second straight season, University at Albany's Head Coach Katie Abrahamson-Henderson, was unanimously selected as the America East Conference Women's Basketball Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Head Coach, Katie Abrahamson-Henderson and her team of assistant coaches, Tahnee Balerio, Kelly Komara, Mary Grimes, and Isoken Uzamere, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the 2012-2013 University at Albany's Women's Basketball Team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Katie Abrahamson-Henderson and her team of assistant coaches have done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the 2012-2013 University at Albany's Women's Basketball Team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Head Coach, Katie Abrahamson-Henderson, her assistant coaches, and the 2012-2013 University at Albany's Women's Basketball Team's outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the 2012-13 University at Albany Women's Basketball Team, its members: Erin Coughlin, Tammy Phillip, Margarita Rosario, Sarah Royals, Ebone Henry, Lindsey Lowrie, Julie Forster, Keyana Williams, Keyontae Williams, Shereesha Richards, Megan Craig, and Taylor McVey; Head Coach Katie Abrahamson-Henderson; Assistant Coaches Tahnee Balerio,

Kelly Komara and Mary Grimes; Graduate Assistant Manager Isoken Uzamere;

and Director of Basketball Operations Brittany Hollingsworth on their outstanding season, overall team record, America East Conference Championship and their NCAA Tournament participation; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the 2012-2013 University at Albany's Women's Basketball Team, and to Head Coach, Katie Abrahamson-Henderson and the aforementioned staff.