LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Women's Basketball Team upon the occasion of capturing the United States Collegiate Athletic Association National Championship

WHEREAS, Founded in 1881, the Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (ACPHS) is a nationally and internationally known institution of higher education committed to graduating the best health care minds in the world, offering an array of degree programs designed to help students succeed in pharmacy and other health related fields; and

WHEREAS, The school takes its mission seriously, and makes a determined effort to educate the whole student; it offers opportunities for students to work side by side with world-renown faculty in researching and developing cutting edge advances in cancer prevention, infectious disease control, and eradication of other serious health risks; it provides an array of social programs for students to pursue outside interests; and it engages its students in area and nation wide programs meant to assist those less fortunate than themselves; and

WHEREAS, Though not as well-known as the medical, pharmaceutical and research portions of the complete education experience the college provides, the College has for decades offered a variety of intramural and club sports, and has competed interscholastically with other similarly sized institutions on the field, and in the gym in an array of interscholastic sports; and

WHEREAS, The College, in furtherance of that commitment to educate the whole person, has, under the vision and guidance of President James Gozzo, embarked on a program to expand its presence at the collegiate sports table; with the recent addition of a cross country running program to the already thriving men's and women's soccer and basketball teams, and more importantly in upgrading its training facilities with the expansion of a student and staff fitness center and completion of a state-of-the-art all weather track and field, the College recognizes the benefits sports can bring to an already active campus life; and

WHEREAS, In 2012, the College, already a part of the Hudson Valley Athletic Conference, saw fit to become a member of the United States Collegiate Athletic Association, a national organization for the intercollegiate athletic programs of over 80 mostly small colleges, community colleges and junior colleges, across the United States, stretching from Washington state to Maine formed for the purpose of providing quality athletic competition on a regional and national level culminating in a post-season tournament opportunity for those who excelled at the level of athletics in which they compete; and

WHEREAS, This past March, the ACPHS Women's Basketball Team, coached by Dan McGraw, and Assistant Coaches John Pedlow and Alex Oaks, one of eight select teams invited to the USCAA Women's Basketball National Championship conducted in Fayette, Pennsylvania won the College's first ever national title with a stirring 60-54 victory over Berkeley College in the tournament finale; and

WHEREAS, The 2012-2013 Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Women's Basketball Team emerged victorious in three consecutive thrill packed games, demonstrating a special resolve to never give up, or give in, even under most severe of pressures; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the 2012-2013 Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Women's Basketball Team, from the opening game of the season to its USCAA Women's Basketball National Championship, were a sisterhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

Pharmacy and Health Sciences Women's Basketball Team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body today pause in its deliberation to congratulate the 2012-2013 Albany College of Pharmacy Women's Basketball Team, its members: Alyson Johnson, Alexa Schooley, Taylor Sullivan, Kelsey Johnson, Megan Serley, Sarah Cope, Megan Phillips, Morgan Esperti, Miranda Costin, Rochelle Whitton and Kristen McKeel; Head Coach Dan McGraw; Assistant Coaches, John Pedlow and Alex Oaks; Trainer Tom Fashouer; Athletic Director Ryan Venter, and Assistant Athletic Director Christine Kanawada on being crowned the 2013 United States Collegiate Athletic Association Women's Basketball National Tournament Champion; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the members of the 2013 United States Collegiate Athletic Association Women's Basketball National Championship Team, and Head Coach Dan McGraw.