LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Siena College Men's Basketball Team and Coach Fran McCaffery upon the occasion of capturing the 2010 Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, It is the sense of this Legislative Body to recognize and commend those athletes of the State of New York who combine in a team effort to achieve a common goal, thereby representing this great Empire State with exceptional dignity, determination and honor; and

WHEREAS, The Siena Saints Men's Basketball Team are the 2010 Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAAC) Champions; and

WHEREAS, On Monday, March 8, 2010, Siena entered the MAAC Tournament as the number one seed and played at the Times Union Center arena in Albany, New York, where it owns a 38-game winning streak; the Saints rallied from a 15-point deficit to win, their third straight MAAC title by defeating Fairfield University 72-65, in overtime advancing into the NCAA Tournament for the third consecutive season under Coach Fran McCaffery; and

WHEREAS, Coach Fran McCaffery has been selected by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) as an All-District Coach representing District 1; under his leadership, Siena has become the only school in the nation to win its conference regular season and Tournament Championship each of the past three years; and

WHEREAS, The Siena Men's Basketball Team is 112-51 in Coach Fran McCaffery's five years with the program and his 67-21 (.761) MAAC mark ranks third all-time among winning percentage for league coaches; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coach Fran McCaffery and his dedicated Assistants, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record of 27-7 is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Siena College Men's Basketball Team, from the opening practice of the season to participation in the NCAA Tournament were a brotherhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on their school; and

WHEREAS, Coach Fran McCaffery and his staff have done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Fran McCaffery and his outstanding athletes have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition at Siena College; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Siena College Men's Basketball Team; its members: O.D. Anosike, Jonathan Breeden, Kyle Downey, Conner Fenlon, Alex Franklin, Kyle Griffin, Clarence Jackson, Davis Martens, Ronald Moore, Steven Priestley, Ryan Rossiter, Just-in'love Smith, Edwin Ubiles, Brandon Walters, and Owen Wignot; Assistant Coaches: Mitch Buonaguro, Andrew Francis, and Adam Chaskin; and Head Coach Fran McCaffery on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be tran-

smitted to the Siena College Men's Basketball Team and to Coach Fran McCaffery.