LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION congratulating the Nyack High School Girls Lacrosse Team and Coach Kathryn Perrella upon the occasion of capturing the 2009 Section I Class C Championship

WHEREAS, Excellence and success in competitive sports can be achieved only through strenuous practice, team play and team spirit, nurtured by dedicated coaching and strategic planning; and

WHEREAS, Athletic competition enhances the moral and physical development of the young people of this State, preparing them for the future by instilling in them the value of teamwork, encouraging a standard of healthy living, imparting a desire for success and developing a sense of fair play and competition; and

WHEREAS, The Nyack High School Girls Lacrosse Team are the 2009 Section I Class C Champions, after defeating Rye High School 16-15 in triple overtime; and

WHEREAS, The athletic talent displayed by this team is due in great part to the efforts of Coach Kathryn Perrella and her outstanding Assistant Coach, Kim Delorenzo, skilled and inspirational tutors, respected for their ability to develop potential into excellence; and

WHEREAS, The team's overall record is outstanding, and the team members were loyally and enthusiastically supported by family, fans, friends and the community at large; and

WHEREAS, The hallmarks of the Nyack High School Girls Lacrosse Team, from the opening game of the season to participation in the Championship, were a sisterhood of athletic ability, of good sportsmanship, of honor and of scholarship, demonstrating that these team players are second to none; and

WHEREAS, Athletically and academically, the team members have proven themselves to be an unbeatable combination of talents, reflecting favorably on Nyack High School; and

WHEREAS, Coach Kathryn Perrella and Kim Delorenzo have done a superb job in guiding, molding and inspiring the team members toward their goals; and

WHEREAS, Sports competition instills the values of teamwork, pride and accomplishment, and Coach Kathryn Perrella and the outstanding athletes on the Nyack High School Girls Lacrosse Team have clearly made a contribution to the spirit of excellence which is a tradition of their school; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That this Legislative Body pause in its deliberations to congratulate the Nyack High School Girls Lacrosse Team; its members: Caroline Chesterman, Alex Atha, Chloe Soukas, Karis Walborn, Hanna Brotherhood, Katie O'Gorman, Tina Chesterman, Erin McCabe, Evie Toland, Karly Walborn, Helen Shabinsky, Allyson McCarter, Cristina DeVita, Gina Miele, Marlena Sirois, Kate Delaney, Natalie Ceresnak, Kate Monahan, and Kerry Farrell; Assistant Coach Kim Delorenzo; and Coach Kathryn Perrella on their outstanding season and overall team record; and be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution, suitably engrossed, be transmitted to the Nyack High School Girls Lacrosse Team, Assistant Coach Kim Delorenzo and to Coach Kathryn Perrella.